Jump to content


Photo

Nerfers Nerfing Disease

Team NerfHaven Folding@Home

445 replies to this topic

#151 Davis

Davis

    Member

  • Members
  • 210 posts

Posted 02 August 2005 - 10:52 AM

You are saying his is small? I dunno if I'm reading this right, but mine is only 250. ^_^

Anyway, can someone post some screenshots of the config at its optimum performance? I don't really need the screensaver, and I doubt that it's helping the program.

Edit: I just saw that comment that the "No-Nonsense Text Only" one is more productive. Can I stop this one, install that one, and it will continue my workunit? Will it give credit to the same account?

Edited by Davis, 02 August 2005 - 10:55 AM.

  • 0
QUOTE ("Devious")
2. Laugh like a maniac as you pummel them with your balls.

#152 Crankymonky

Crankymonky

    It's The Dean!

  • Members
  • 687 posts
  • Location:DC

Posted 02 August 2005 - 11:58 AM

You have to let it finish the current workunit before uninstalling and reinstalling. Also, after uninstalling, make sure to go to control panel-administrative tools-services, and disable FAH if it isn't automatically done.

I've never used any other client but the console. If they use the same files (likely) it may be possible by overwriting client.cfg and the work folder. But, I haven't tried it. It probably won't let you, I've had it restart a work unit after changing client.cfg because it was Anonymous. Then, I did the same thing again and kept the work unit on another machine.

Crank'

Oh, I recommend just finishing your work unit.
  • 0
Tyranny Response Team

#153 LordoftheRing434

LordoftheRing434

    Member

  • Members
  • 565 posts
  • Location:Duluth/Minneapolis, MN

Posted 02 August 2005 - 10:00 PM

Ok, one final question for the wise ones: Today I left my CPU running to calculate while I visited my grandma (I'm a good boy). When I got back, I realized we must've had a power surge or something, because my computer was off. Now, when I try to boot F@H up, it doesn't work. It begins a WU as usual (my current WU was deleted), but it stops once it shows the copyrights. I let it continue to run for about an hour and a half, but it's still idle. Nothing has changed. What's the dealio yo? Just when I thought I had it sorted out, something like this has to happen. :ph34r:

~Rings
  • 0
And when he gets to Heaven, to St. Peter he will tell, "One more soldier reporting sir, I've served my time in hell."

"I bluff it. I don't throw my weight around and say I know what I'm doing." ~ Mick Jagger

#154 Crankymonky

Crankymonky

    It's The Dean!

  • Members
  • 687 posts
  • Location:DC

Posted 02 August 2005 - 10:17 PM

Not sure, but, is it using your CPU? That would be the first thing to check, other than that, or running both as service and from console (I did this once), not sure. Cx, Spoon? Someone else?

Crank'
  • 0
Tyranny Response Team

#155 Black Wrath

Black Wrath

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,071 posts
  • Location:Mississauga, ON, Canada

Posted 02 August 2005 - 10:24 PM

Not sure, but, is it using your CPU? That would be the first thing to check, other than that, or running both as service and from console (I did this once), not sure. Cx, Spoon? Someone else?

Crank'

He may be having conflicts between it being run as a service, and as an application.

To remedy this, I'd suggest deleting the console, and all that came with it, and download it again. Configure it all over again, and get everything right. Download your new first WU, and try again.

It sucks to lose your work, but it's not going to do you any good sitting there idle, twiddling it's thumbs.
  • 0
Xx_Black-Wrath_xX of The Canadian Foam Militia

Not in the game anymore, but it was great while it lasted. Thanks for the great years of fun, NH!
--
Resident "Spawn of Talio"

#156 Davis

Davis

    Member

  • Members
  • 210 posts

Posted 02 August 2005 - 10:28 PM

Well, I finished a workunit, paused the thing to think if I will download the console, decided just to Resume It, and something's wrong.

Ever since I came back to my PC after resuming it again, I've had no F@H toolbar icon. When I try to start the program, it says the core is in use.

Should I just reinstall? I'm assuming they already got my last WU, will I lose it?
  • 0
QUOTE ("Devious")
2. Laugh like a maniac as you pummel them with your balls.

#157 cxwq

cxwq

    Member

  • Founders
  • 3,634 posts

Posted 02 August 2005 - 10:29 PM

I've had WUs which took over an hour to do 1% on some machines. In that case, you do see the copyright notice for over an hour before it starts to do anything. So... what cranky said - is it using your CPU? When you want to know if a process is running, just hit ctrl-alt-del and click on the processes tab.

Edit: Just saw your post and I'm starting to think like Black Wrath. If you had a toolbar icon then you were running the graphical version I assume?

Edit Edit: Just realized I was responding to two different posters as if it was the same person/problem. /sigh/ Anyway, LotR434, I think you're following the safest path. Davis, you just appeared on the stats page so clearly you did something right. Congrats!
  • 0
<meta name="cxwq" content="mostly water">

#158 LordoftheRing434

LordoftheRing434

    Member

  • Members
  • 565 posts
  • Location:Duluth/Minneapolis, MN

Posted 02 August 2005 - 10:37 PM

No, the console was Not Responding. But I tried to boot it up again and it did the same thing. I think I'm just going to do what BW said, and reconfigure the whole thing. At least I can get it right that way. Thanks for the help!

EDIT: Damn, that's not working. I swear someone pissed in my Rice Krispies today because everything is going wrong. I can't even CPVC-mod a gun anymore! I think I'm just going to let it run over the course of tomorrow and see what happens. You're probably right, Cx. It's just going to take forever.

Edited by LordoftheRing434, 02 August 2005 - 10:46 PM.

  • 0
And when he gets to Heaven, to St. Peter he will tell, "One more soldier reporting sir, I've served my time in hell."

"I bluff it. I don't throw my weight around and say I know what I'm doing." ~ Mick Jagger

#159 Davis

Davis

    Member

  • Members
  • 210 posts

Posted 02 August 2005 - 10:53 PM

I've been on the stats page half the day, it's my second WU that is the problem. :ph34r:

Edit: Went to the second tab on the Task Finder, it said the F@H core was using 98% of my CPU. Like a dumbass, without thinking, I ended the process.

I can't even start the program, and won't reinstalling lose my WU that was (but I thought it wasn't) running all day?

Edited by Davis, 02 August 2005 - 11:05 PM.

  • 0
QUOTE ("Devious")
2. Laugh like a maniac as you pummel them with your balls.

#160 Crankymonky

Crankymonky

    It's The Dean!

  • Members
  • 687 posts
  • Location:DC

Posted 03 August 2005 - 09:07 AM

To restart it, either Reboot your computer or go to start -administrative tools- services-F@H and click start. Assuming it's a service. Try one or both of those ways.
  • 0
Tyranny Response Team

#161 cxwq

cxwq

    Member

  • Founders
  • 3,634 posts

Posted 05 August 2005 - 06:50 PM

Posted Image

I'd like to welcome IronRhino, Spoon, Robonerfer, and Davis to the team. We're up to 82 CPUs active in the last 50 days! Unfortunately, a few people have stopped running the client during the last week so the rest of us need to make up for it.

We're currently ranked 1,593 per our team page and are still climbing at a rate of around 40 teams per day.

Congrats to quasar for moving back into 2nd place and taking the lead in our little contest. Shinny is putting up insane numbers for only 2 CPUs and could actually threaten quasar and baelnorn. Crankymonky is moving up slowly on Ompa in 6th and Piney once again holds the lead in the tight race for 8th.

Keep recruiting new members and adding those CPUs!
  • 0
<meta name="cxwq" content="mostly water">

#162 duce

duce

    Member

  • Members
  • 342 posts
  • Location:Ann Arbor MI (southeast MI)

Posted 05 August 2005 - 07:30 PM

Danm, why aren't I on the list yet? Mines been running for 3 days straight.
  • 0
"Thats so good it makes me want to kick my mom in the face." -Halfling

#163 AirApache

AirApache

    Member

  • Members
  • 743 posts
  • Location:Indianapolis, IN
  • State:Indiana
  • Country:United States

Posted 05 August 2005 - 07:57 PM

You have to finish one WU before you're officially in.
  • 0
Indiana '11

#164 MattPaintballer

MattPaintballer

    Member

  • Members
  • 369 posts
  • Location:Where the slots are plentiful, and the yards are small

Posted 05 August 2005 - 11:48 PM

Man, this makes me want to upgrade to my PC. Or maybe just get a new one, since this thing has so many problems anyway.

Fold on! Hey I finally got ahead of Uncle Hammer :ph34r:
  • 0
"I think politicians are much more irritating than hippies."
"the56ace,
Your member account at NerfHaven has been temporarily suspended because I don't like you."
-cxwq
If ignorance is bliss, our president must be ecstatic.

#165 The Infinite Shindig

The Infinite Shindig

    Arma-what-now?

  • Contributors
  • 1,383 posts

Posted 06 August 2005 - 12:55 AM

Shinny is putting up insane numbers for only 2 CPUs and could actually threaten quasar and baelnorn.

That's because the CPU's I have control over have basically been running the service version 24/7. I've actually lost time because my laptop is connected wirelessly, and it disconnects itself from the internet when the screen saver engages. This means I sometimes come home, and the system has been using its idle process for 8 hours because the work unit completed while I was at work.

I am hoping to get this on some other machines soon. I can't promise that though, but I will do my best. I really wish I could have utilized the resources at my internship, but the Department of Defense kind of has problems with unapproved programs such as Folding@Home. As nice as winning that contest would be, it's not worth my job or jail time.
  • 0
Shindig of the Lawn Chair Mafia

<a href="http://www.albinobla.../flash/posting" target="_blank">Posting and You</a>

#166 Pineapple

Pineapple

    Old-school Admin

  • Contributors
  • 1,377 posts

Posted 06 August 2005 - 08:03 PM

Posted Image

Hey look, we overtook paintball.com!


For those who are getting impatient with their CPUs that seem to take forever to complete their work units, take courage...those are usually pretty extensive, and subsequently good, point-wise. When you complete them, watch out! Big gains in points.

I need them...all three of my comps are doing bigger ones right now...Bunny and Shrimpy zipped by me, and Phantom and rawray7 are on my tail! Battle royal for the coveted 8th place! :w00t:

This is bad; I'm almost having as much fun as Nerfing now.


-Piney-
  • 0
-Piney- of White Dog Hobbies Armory


<!--quoteo(post=209846:date=Feb 5 2009, 06:27 PM:name=boom)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(boom @ Feb 5 2009, 06:27 PM) View Post</div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->
It's to bad you live in hawaii I bet there are not many wars there.Wait what am I saying<b> you live in hawaii you lucky bastard.</b>
<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->

#167 flamebo388

flamebo388

    Member

  • Members
  • 277 posts

Posted 07 August 2005 - 03:58 PM

I'm a bit confused, it has my first WU logged in the system but I finished another smaller one a two days ago and it still hasn't logged that in the system. Wait, I just looked at the log and it didn't say it sent the first one, in the log the second one is counted as my first completed unit. Any way I can get the first one sent manually?
  • 0
And as everyone knows, money makes the world go round. It's also the root of all evil, therefore the world going round is evil, and we should stop the rotation of the planet.

#168 Robonerfer

Robonerfer

    Member

  • Members
  • 27 posts

Posted 07 August 2005 - 07:43 PM

:blink:
Nice estimates!


The fact that you're having fun is a very common response to a situation like this, which is that they give you a reward that doesn't actually exist for doing something. Then they add competition to make it even more appealing, and it's irresistable.

:blush:

Sorry about that, I've been doing an online psychology course recently and it's just starting to sink in.
Flamebo- probably not. Just keep working.
  • 0

#169 TED

TED

    In Brightest Prawn, in Darkest Shrimp...

  • Administrators
  • 1,338 posts

Posted 07 August 2005 - 08:14 PM

Yes! Piney I have overtaken you, but probably not for long since I only have one pc. But I'll just keep on keepin' on.
  • 0
Star Wars can go fuck itself.

#170 Pineapple

Pineapple

    Old-school Admin

  • Contributors
  • 1,377 posts

Posted 07 August 2005 - 09:10 PM

The fact that you're having fun is a very common response to a situation like this, which is that they give you a reward that doesn't actually exist for doing something.  Then they add competition to make it even more appealing, and it's irresistable.

:blush:

Sorry about that, I've been doing an online psychology course recently and it's just starting to sink in.

That could be true, but here's a quote from another thread that kind of expresses my sentiments toward this F@H effort;

I don't want to speak for all of us, but as for me, it's not about place, or even the prize that cx is offering for the 2nd place finisher. It's all about the cause as a whole, and the fact that NerfHaven is working together as a TEAM, and rocketing up the ranks amongst those teams who have been folding for years. Cx is accomplishing similar tasks in WEEKS.



I'm a sucker for anything that brings a sense of purpose and subsequent UNITY amongst a community, be it a church, a social group, or my buddies at NerfHaven.

I've seen and been a part of communities that are so exclusive they reek of being a clique. I've seen and endured communities that only bicker and fight like hens over an egg.

While we're not immune to some of the symptoms some of the time, I'd much rather be in a situation where we work together and make a mark somewhere, anywhere, as long as we did it as a team.

Make sense? It's my sentiments, so it may not at the moment.


-Piney-

EDIT; Dark Shrimp; you may only have one computer, but it kicks ass...I have three old CPUs and they're running the client 24/7. Celerons get pretty hot when crunching (Laptop and my house comp). CHARGE! :blink:
  • 0
-Piney- of White Dog Hobbies Armory


<!--quoteo(post=209846:date=Feb 5 2009, 06:27 PM:name=boom)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(boom @ Feb 5 2009, 06:27 PM) View Post</div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->
It's to bad you live in hawaii I bet there are not many wars there.Wait what am I saying<b> you live in hawaii you lucky bastard.</b>
<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->

#171 TheHaze

TheHaze

    Member

  • Members
  • 192 posts

Posted 08 August 2005 - 08:57 AM

Woo. Finaly I'm up to 14th place. Highest I've ever been. And we passed the Runescape Community. HAHA Suck it RPGs.
  • 0
When you die, if you get a choice between going to regular heaven or pie heaven, choose pie heaven. It might be a trick, but if it's not, mmmmmmm, boy

#172 duce

duce

    Member

  • Members
  • 342 posts
  • Location:Ann Arbor MI (southeast MI)

Posted 08 August 2005 - 01:43 PM

Damn, I was wondering why it was taking me so long to get that first WU finished, putting me in the NH ranks. So I opened the console and it said that my username was anynomous and had no team. I am sure that I put a name and the NH team number in but it didn't register for some reason. There isn't any way to switch to the NH team and change my name or to I just have to restart.
  • 0
"Thats so good it makes me want to kick my mom in the face." -Halfling

#173 cxwq

cxwq

    Member

  • Founders
  • 3,634 posts

Posted 08 August 2005 - 01:47 PM

Stop the client.

Run it with:

FAH502-console -configonly

Fix the info, make sure it's set to run as a service.

It will automatically exit when you're done fixing it.

Reboot and the service will automatically start.

You'll get proper credit for the work unit it's currently doing.
  • 0
<meta name="cxwq" content="mostly water">

#174 duce

duce

    Member

  • Members
  • 342 posts
  • Location:Ann Arbor MI (southeast MI)

Posted 08 August 2005 - 03:30 PM

Alright, thanks cx.
  • 0
"Thats so good it makes me want to kick my mom in the face." -Halfling

#175 Phantom

Phantom

    Member

  • Members
  • 35 posts
  • Location:Denver, Colorado

Posted 08 August 2005 - 06:21 PM

Yay! I'm doing pretty good in my opinion. I'm still surprised im doing this good with one laptop. Well, good luck processing!

Edited by Phantom, 08 August 2005 - 06:22 PM.

  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users