Jump to content


Photo

Nerf Barricade - Mod Guide!

+ Demo & Range Testing Vid!

42 replies to this topic

#26 MavericK96

MavericK96

    Member

  • Members
  • 229 posts
  • Location:Anacortes
  • State:Washington
  • Country:United States

Posted 04 December 2010 - 08:00 PM

Does anyone know where to source those AAA to AA adapters for making the "empty" battery cells? The ones on DealExtreme look like they don't have a bottom piece (making them worthless for this applications) and they're out of stock anyway. I haven't been able to find ones like SGNerf uses online anywhere.

If I can't find any, I guess the only option is to find a bolt/wire to jam/solder in between the contacts in the gun itself with no casing.


I just bought a few of them... let me see if I can dredge up a location... I'll edit this post once I get the name of the company.


EDIT: I found the source: Click Here (2 Pack for 2.26 USD)


Excellent, just what I needed. Thanks. Free shipping, too!
  • 0

#27 shardbearer

shardbearer

    Member

  • Members
  • 177 posts
  • Location:San Francisco
  • State:California
  • Country:United States
  • u/ahalekelly on Reddit

Posted 04 December 2010 - 08:39 PM

I would just use a piece of wire and etape.

I don't know much about electonics, but would using two unprotected and one standard battery just lower the voltage or bring it up to 9.9v? SGnerf said that 12.6 was too much and the motors didn't work, and this might be the happy medium.

Edited by shardbearer, 04 December 2010 - 08:40 PM.

  • 0

#28 MavericK96

MavericK96

    Member

  • Members
  • 229 posts
  • Location:Anacortes
  • State:Washington
  • Country:United States

Posted 05 December 2010 - 03:01 AM

I would just use a piece of wire and etape.

I don't know much about electonics, but would using two unprotected and one standard battery just lower the voltage or bring it up to 9.9v? SGnerf said that 12.6 was too much and the motors didn't work, and this might be the happy medium.


You typically don't want to mix battery types and voltages.
  • 0

#29 iDrag0m1r

iDrag0m1r

    Member

  • Members
  • 66 posts

Posted 12 December 2010 - 02:27 PM

When relocating the pressure switch, does it require any extra wire to be added?
  • 0
I AM JUNIOR!

#30 SgNerf

SgNerf

    Member

  • Members
  • 204 posts
  • Country:Singapore

Posted 13 December 2010 - 02:41 AM

This is a good mod and a good write up. I have no idea if it's been done before, but all the new guys could take a hint from this. Well done. However, it is ashame after all that work you couldn't get more out of it.

Thanks for the feedback Talio.

I guess this series of Barricade mods are the basic kinds of things that can be done on it, hopefully there will be other modders who push the modifications further and generate even more performance improvements.

When relocating the pressure switch, does it require any extra wire to be added?

Yes, for easier routing of the wiring, it would be recommended to extend the length of one of the wires (though it could still operate with shorter wiring, just abit more hassle when working on the internals). Simply solder another length of wire between the existing wiring and the pressure switch contact.

Edited by SgNerf, 16 December 2010 - 02:54 AM.

  • 0
Nerf News & Reviews! >> http://www.sgnerf.blogspot.com
Nerf Mod Guides! >> http://www.modworks.blogspot.com

#31 BartusCompater

BartusCompater

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 15 December 2010 - 12:11 AM

I sawed the front of the barrel off the other day. It looks much better without it, but I think it's actually affecting accuracy quite significantly. Either that or my screamer darts are getting a little worn out from being repeatedly fired at walls. My Barricade used to fire fire incredibly straight (I could even trust the built-in sight), but after removing the barrel the darts frequently fly off in varying directions, giving me an "accurate" shot only about 50% of the time.

I should note that this could also be due to wear on the flywheels or something like that. I just looked down the barrel and the bottom wheel looks like it might be a little wobbly. I'll have to open the gun to investigate.

Additionally, I'll say that in sawing off the front of the barrel I did re-attach a portion of the ribbed inner tube that fell out unsupported after removing the "suppressor" looking thing at the front.

Edited by BartusCompater, 15 December 2010 - 12:19 AM.

  • 0

#32 shardbearer

shardbearer

    Member

  • Members
  • 177 posts
  • Location:San Francisco
  • State:California
  • Country:United States
  • u/ahalekelly on Reddit

Posted 15 December 2010 - 04:37 PM

You might have glued the barrel on crooked, or slightly off. I think that barrels do absolutely nothing in flywheel guns, someone correct me if I am wrong.
  • 0

#33 BartusCompater

BartusCompater

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 16 December 2010 - 12:32 PM

You might have glued the barrel on crooked, or slightly off. I think that barrels do absolutely nothing in flywheel guns, someone correct me if I am wrong.


It would be pretty hard to re-attach it crooked. It slides right into a fitting that keeps it straight.
  • 0

#34 WicketTheModder619

WicketTheModder619

    Member

  • Members
  • 247 posts
  • Location:Northwest, Indiana
  • State:Indiana
  • Country:United States

Posted 25 December 2010 - 11:26 PM

I am surprised that no one has asked this yet, so I will go ahead and do it. Could the motors handle 9 volts, as in a 9 volt battery? If it would work, it would be alot easier for modders, since they wouldn't have to order batteries online.
  • 0
23:06 Buffdaddy: As long as they aren't doing it all night, don't care.

#35 SgNerf

SgNerf

    Member

  • Members
  • 204 posts
  • Country:Singapore

Posted 26 December 2010 - 06:21 AM

I am surprised that no one has asked this yet, so I will go ahead and do it. Could the motors handle 9 volts, as in a 9 volt battery? If it would work, it would be alot easier for modders, since they wouldn't have to order batteries online.

If you are referring to those rectangular block-shaped alkaline 9V batteries, yes... they can power the Barricade too.

But note that 9V batteries have really low mAh capacity so they'll run out of power quite quickly.
  • 0
Nerf News & Reviews! >> http://www.sgnerf.blogspot.com
Nerf Mod Guides! >> http://www.modworks.blogspot.com

#36 WicketTheModder619

WicketTheModder619

    Member

  • Members
  • 247 posts
  • Location:Northwest, Indiana
  • State:Indiana
  • Country:United States

Posted 26 December 2010 - 01:32 PM

You really do know a lot about batteries. Anyway, how fast are we talking about compared to AA's? ( volts aren't too expensive and can be found commonly, that is why I thought they would be better.
  • 0
23:06 Buffdaddy: As long as they aren't doing it all night, don't care.

#37 FriendlyFireNH

FriendlyFireNH

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 26 December 2010 - 02:07 PM

Well, the AAs SGnerf posted about had 900mAh, and since they were in series the total mAh will stay at 900. 9volts range between 160-600 mAh, they change depending on chemistry. Now, if you got two with around 500 and wired them in parallel (This would add their capacitiess) you could play for even longer then SGnerf. (I, personally, am experimenting with two 600mAh lithium 9volts. Early results are while I will get more voltage and time of play, probably not enough to offset increased cost and work from SG's design.) Or even if you just stuck one in around 400-500 you could do short games or use it as a sidearm only. However, if you pick up one with 160mAh even minimal play would see voltage dropping.

So you can certainly use 9volts, if you want a lot or a little play. You just have to be aware of what you are buying and how you want to use your gun.
  • 0

#38 MavericK96

MavericK96

    Member

  • Members
  • 229 posts
  • Location:Anacortes
  • State:Washington
  • Country:United States

Posted 26 December 2010 - 05:52 PM

Batteries in parallel is not a super-great idea. If you are going to do it, though, make sure they are *identical* (and I do mean identical). Also, make sure they are at the same charge level.

And like SGNerf said, using 9-volt batteries isn't a good idea for this application because they have really low capacity, especially in a relatively high-current situation like this.
  • 0

#39 arfink

arfink

    Member

  • Members
  • 246 posts
  • Location:Columbia Heights MN
  • State:Minnesota
  • Country:United States

Posted 27 December 2010 - 11:35 PM

Is it just mine, or do barricades have an over-voltage protection circuit of some kind? I haven't opened mine to find it yet, but I suspect they must, since 12 volts is making it fussy.
  • 0
A2GS + 4 meg RAM + 128 meg CF + 9600 Baud Lantronix = WIN

#40 shardbearer

shardbearer

    Member

  • Members
  • 177 posts
  • Location:San Francisco
  • State:California
  • Country:United States
  • u/ahalekelly on Reddit

Posted 28 December 2010 - 12:15 PM

SGnerf said no over voltage circuit, but that the motors won't work at 12.6v at all.
  • 0

#41 MavericK96

MavericK96

    Member

  • Members
  • 229 posts
  • Location:Anacortes
  • State:Washington
  • Country:United States

Posted 06 January 2011 - 06:49 PM

Does anyone know where to source those AAA to AA adapters for making the "empty" battery cells? The ones on DealExtreme look like they don't have a bottom piece (making them worthless for this applications) and they're out of stock anyway. I haven't been able to find ones like SGNerf uses online anywhere.

If I can't find any, I guess the only option is to find a bolt/wire to jam/solder in between the contacts in the gun itself with no casing.


I just bought a few of them... let me see if I can dredge up a location... I'll edit this post once I get the name of the company.


EDIT: I found the source: Click Here (2 Pack for 2.26 USD)


UPDATE:

So, after I ordered these (at least a couple weeks ago, in fact), I never heard anything until I finally got them today. And as it turns out, they are NOT the enclosed type with the spring that are shown in the picture, but rather the same as the ones DealExtreme makes (with no spring and simply an open bottom for the negative terminal). Obviously these don't work for the Barricade, so I'm kind of upset. I'll email the company, as you must have gotten the correct ones (I assume anyway) and they gave me the others.
  • 0

#42 SgNerf

SgNerf

    Member

  • Members
  • 204 posts
  • Country:Singapore

Posted 07 January 2011 - 05:52 AM

Is it just mine, or do barricades have an over-voltage protection circuit of some kind? I haven't opened mine to find it yet, but I suspect they must, since 12 volts is making it fussy.

My electronics knowledge is "cave man" level at best, but it seems there is an over-current protection circuit in the Barricade.

If you bypass the existing circuit and simply connect the batteries directly to the motors, they will spin really fast without control and overheat quickly. So i guess the safety feature lies in the small electronics bits that you can spot in the Barricade's circuit... i have no idea which ones they are or how they work, but its just an observation.

If any real electronics experts out there can elaborate further on how the safety feature works, it would be helpful to us all. :)

Edited by SgNerf, 07 January 2011 - 05:59 AM.

  • 0
Nerf News & Reviews! >> http://www.sgnerf.blogspot.com
Nerf Mod Guides! >> http://www.modworks.blogspot.com

#43 MavericK96

MavericK96

    Member

  • Members
  • 229 posts
  • Location:Anacortes
  • State:Washington
  • Country:United States

Posted 08 January 2011 - 01:00 AM

If any real electronics experts out there can elaborate further on how the safety feature works, it would be helpful to us all. :)


If someone took a close-up detailed picture of the PCB I might be able to figure it out. B)
  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users