My first Homemade

6 replies to this topic

#1 Tigersgrace

Tigersgrace

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 01 January 2014 - 10:57 PM

Hello Nerfhaven,
I am Tigersgrace and this is my first time trying to make a nerf blaster completely homemade. When making this blaster, I tried to use only parts that I could find around my house or from scrap parts at work. I did invest in some fittings and some small springs from HD, however, the blaster cost is still under $20 USD.

A lot of my inspiration for this blaster came from seeing MIG's Homewrecker

So without further adieu I present my first creation.

It is made from a 12" piece of 2" PVC pipe with some 1 1/2" to 1/2' PVC reducers. The 1 1/2" reducers are E-taped heavily to fit very snug into the 2" PVC. This was all hot glued and gooped in place.

Posted Image

I used a piece of a suction cup from a robot at work to make the plunger head. It fit in the 2" pipe perfectly, and after released, created an almost perfect plunger head seal.

Posted Image

I do have plans to make a catch for this blaster; I just don't know how I am going to do it yet. I really like the look of the rainbow catch, but I may just make it a SNAP style catch/release.

Almost forgot one of the more important things...RANGES! It gets 126.35 ft. with megas and 151.2 with micros. Both were glue domes. Ranges were "walked" with a surveyors wheel.

Thanks for looking. Any comments, questions, flames, or tips would be greatly appreciated.

#2 Exo

Exo

• Members
  • 391 posts

Posted 02 January 2014 - 12:09 AM

Is that a flat range? And what is your barrel setup for those ranges?

#3 Tigersgrace

Tigersgrace

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 02 January 2014 - 12:18 AM

That is at about 25° and the megas are with a singled 16" barrel and the micros are with a hoppered 14" barrel and 12" hopper. Those are also the farthest ranges not the averages.I actually tried to replicate MIG's firing position in the range test for the "homewrecker".