Photo

Wrist Mounted Flywheel Gauntlet Blaster

A gauntlet that uses flywheels on your wrist to shoot darts, duh.

37 replies to this topic

#1 Ranger Dave

Ranger Dave

• Members
  • 27 posts

Posted 24 January 2012 - 01:41 AM

I am Ranger Dave, I'm a Mechanical Engineer at The Ohio State University, and i build unconventional nerf weapons. Recently I came across a pair of broken Tommy-20 flywheels in my friend Xellah's parts bin, I decided that there was just too much potential to leave them just sitting there and set to work. After one trip to radio shack and 7 hours of tinkering around i was left with a beautiful launcher that could sail darts farther than 50 feet. For anyone with a pair of flywheels just lying around gathering dust I highly recommend tinkering with them,they are the perfect size for integration because they can fit just about anywhere, plus they're just so fun.
This is my weapon so far, i plan to build and integrate a clip as soon as possible.

Materials Needed
1X Pair of flywheels
2X Radioshack Metal Gear 1.5-3 VDC Motor
1X Push-button or flip switch (don't use a momentary switch unless you plan on holding it down for as long as you use it, its a pain in the ass)
1X Three AAA Battery holder
Whatever you plan on mounting it to or integrating it into
Wires
Soldering Iron
Drill
Knife
Hot Glue

Step 1
Posted Image
The first thing your going to want to do is replace the motors in the flywheel sub-assembly, in short they suck and they are one of the main reasons the tommy twenty isn't taken seriously. You can replace the motors with any motors you like as long as you can get them centered properly. I choose two 3 volt motors with 8700 RPM (no load) because they were the exact same size and shape of the motors i was replacing, i went with these because it was easier, but if you get motors with higher RPM you could probably get even better distance than me.

Step 2
Posted Image