Solenoid Valve Help

can you run it off batties?

13 replies to this topic

#1 slowpotato

slowpotato

• Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 30 August 2004 - 05:10 PM

Im new to nerf, but i have been making homemades for a little while. I resently have been working on a homemade useing a solenoid sprinkler valve, but i have been having trouble getting it to work. Does anybody have any experience with solenoid valves that could help me? Is it possible to run the solenoid valve off of 9v batteries? I bought a rain bird 3/4 in. automatic sprinkler valve. There is a picture of it at this link: http://www.rainbird....s/valves/cp.htm

#2 cxwq

cxwq

• Founders
  • 3,634 posts

Posted 30 August 2004 - 05:22 PM

You need to use 3 9v batteries wired in series.
<meta name="cxwq" content="mostly water">

#3 slowpotato

slowpotato

• Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 30 August 2004 - 06:31 PM

i wired 3 9v batteries together and the valve doesn't seem to open all the way as if it doesnt have enough voltage to open it. I get the same effect with 3 9v batteries wired in a series as i do with 1 9v battery. on the side of the valve i noticed it says 24v AC 50/60 HC. I guess i need 24 volts to get it to work properly.

#4 BlueSmudge

BlueSmudge

• Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 30 August 2004 - 08:28 PM

first off, three 9v is more than than 24v. I think you also need a momentary switch in the curcuit. If you can find out WTF that is, tell me please. But try it anyways.

#5 slowpotato

slowpotato

• Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 30 August 2004 - 10:59 PM

I think you meant a momentary contact switch, or a pushbutton switch. It's just a switch where you press a buton down for as long as you want a flowing electric current then when you let go of the button the electric current stops. But it shouldn't matter if i connect the batteries directly to the valve or if i add a switch to the cercuit, its stilll getting electric current. Whatever ill try it anyways.