Photo

Lipo for Rapidstrike with 180 motors

6 replies to this topic

#1 Speedr117

Speedr117

• Members
  • 57 posts

Posted 24 March 2017 - 08:12 PM

Hello! I am new to nerfhaven, but not to nerf modding. I have done a few electrical mods before and decided it was time to make a primary. I have ordered two mtb hellcats and one wolverine that I plan on installing in a rapidstrike. The rapidstrike will have bodywork similar to Torok's tacmod. Now I was going to order a lipo, specifically, this one (https://hobbyking.co...-lipo-pack.html). Then I heard that a pair of hellcats draw 45 amps and a wolverine draws 50. According to my calculations I would need a battery like this (https://hobbyking.com/en_us/graphene-2200mah-3s-65c-w-xt60.html). This cannot be right. Was my first battery ok, or should I get something else.
TL;DR What lipo to get for a mtb rapidstrike.

#2 SirBrass

SirBrass

• Members
  • 74 posts
  • State:California

Posted 24 March 2017 - 09:51 PM

Edit: For the tl;dr, use a 3240 (aka blade 180) for the pusher. It'll do just as well on 3s as a wolverine will do on 2s but without the obscene current draw.

Okay, don't use triple wolverines without mosfets. Period. Way too much current draw. It's not that you won't find a suitable battery but the stress on 10A microswitches from that much current is not a good thing.

Hellcats draw much less current at stall. You'll want to have about 60A discharge available for burst for a tri-blade or triple hellcat build according to the data sheet compiled by ssgt at britnerf.

A 1000mAh 3S 65C Turnigy Graphene battery will have plenty of discharge capability & capacity for a triple hellcat build. For a tri-blade, a 1000mAh 2S 65C Graphene is also more than sufficient.