Jump to content


Photo

At3k Question - Plugged Pump, Remove Goo Gauge?


11 replies to this topic

#1 Liam

Liam

    Member

  • Members
  • 207 posts
  • Location:Baltimore, Maryland

Posted 04 August 2009 - 12:43 PM

Alright, I have searched through multiple At3k write-ups, questions, problems, etc. and can not find a clear answer to this question.

If the plug is pumped on my AT3k, is it recommended that I plug/remove the goo gauge as well? Now I know removing the gauge won't increase the guns power (this I did find out from searching), but I don't want the risk of the goo gauge rupturing under the pressure of a plugged pump.

Now, as previously stated I HAVE THOROUGHLY SEARCHED THESE FORUMS for the answer to my question, so don't be the dick who posts a reply to this such as:

"It's called the SEARCH function, see, that thing in the top right?"

OR

"You could have just looked here ("here" being a link) instead of starting a thread"

If you know the answer to my question, please answer it. If you do not know the answer, than obviously don't answer it. The End.

Thank you.

Edited by Liam, 04 August 2009 - 07:14 PM.

  • 0
The chances of one person taking a bomb on a plane are one in a million. The chances of two people taking a bomb on a plane are one in a trillion. So if you're scared of a terrorist attack, bring a bomb on a plane.

#2 wingd man

wingd man

    Member

  • Members
  • 514 posts
  • Location:Austin,TX 78751

Posted 04 August 2009 - 01:07 PM

So you're asking whether you HAVE to remove the goo gauge? I know you do on a 2K, but on a 3k I'm clueless.
  • 0

#3 Liam

Liam

    Member

  • Members
  • 207 posts
  • Location:Baltimore, Maryland

Posted 04 August 2009 - 01:10 PM

So you're asking whether you HAVE to remove the goo gauge? I know you do on a 2K, but on a 3k I'm clueless.



I'm asking if it is RECOMMENDED, as in, if I don't remove the goo gauge, will it break because of the pressure with a plugged pump?
  • 0
The chances of one person taking a bomb on a plane are one in a million. The chances of two people taking a bomb on a plane are one in a trillion. So if you're scared of a terrorist attack, bring a bomb on a plane.

#4 yahman1254

yahman1254

    Member

  • Members
  • 45 posts

Posted 04 August 2009 - 01:12 PM

In the modifications section of nh there is a follow up to the 3k write up which proves that draining it actually reduces range. I don't know about removing it though.
  • 0

#5 Daniel Beaver

Daniel Beaver

    HQRSE CQCK

  • Moderators
  • 2,057 posts
  • NerfHaven Subscription Supporter
  • Location:Minneapolis
  • State:Minnesota
  • Country:United States

Posted 04 August 2009 - 01:17 PM

To answer the question: no, you don't have to remove it.

I remove mine so that I can grip the top handle without it being in the way, but leaving it there does not affect the functionality of the blaster. It is probably not going to randomly explode. And if it does, it is easy to cut off.

Edited by Daniel Beaver, 04 August 2009 - 01:18 PM.

  • 0

#6 TantumBull

TantumBull

    Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,929 posts
  • Location:Seattle, WA
  • State:Washington
  • Country:United States
  • u/LukeKoboJobo on Reddit

Posted 04 August 2009 - 05:30 PM

Mine exploded internally and got blue goo everywhere in the tubing and valve. Remove it before that happens.
  • 0

#7 durka durka

durka durka

    Member

  • Members
  • 364 posts
  • Location:Durkadurkastan
  • State:Delaware
  • Country:United States

Posted 04 August 2009 - 05:36 PM

As long as it is not a big hassle, remove the gauge. If you ever want to integrate the 3k into anything, you will probably have to remove it anyway.
  • 0
"The warrior who cultivates his mind polishes his arms"

#8 Blue

Blue

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,222 posts

Posted 04 August 2009 - 06:02 PM

Mine exploded internally and got blue goo everywhere in the tubing and valve. Remove it before that happens.


Same here. Do it, it's not hard and you don't lose anything by removing it.
  • 0

#9 wingd man

wingd man

    Member

  • Members
  • 514 posts
  • Location:Austin,TX 78751

Posted 04 August 2009 - 10:10 PM

As I word of advice I'd add about a 3/4 to a foot of tubing so that way if you ever want to integrate it it's less of a hassle. In my opinion that's the only real use for 2Ks and 3Ks anyways...
  • 0

#10 Daniel Beaver

Daniel Beaver

    HQRSE CQCK

  • Moderators
  • 2,057 posts
  • NerfHaven Subscription Supporter
  • Location:Minneapolis
  • State:Minnesota
  • Country:United States

Posted 04 August 2009 - 10:17 PM

An easy way to remove it without fiddling with the tubing is cutting the top portion off with a hacksaw and sealing the stub with hot glue and a dash of goop.
  • 0

#11 Liam

Liam

    Member

  • Members
  • 207 posts
  • Location:Baltimore, Maryland

Posted 05 August 2009 - 12:21 PM

An easy way to remove it without fiddling with the tubing is cutting the top portion off with a hacksaw and sealing the stub with hot glue and a dash of goop.



I ended up doing something along those lines. I unscrewed the two halves of the gauge, drained the liquid, filled the clear plastic cavity with hot glue, covered the hole connecting the tubing to the gauge with Amazing Goop and a SSPB trigger on top (to set the glue). Than I put the original rubber sealing disk on top of the sealed hole and screwed the upper half back on, making the goo gauge 100% cut off from the rest of the gun, deeming it virtually gone. I did this because I didn't have any vinyl tube connections on hand.
  • 0
The chances of one person taking a bomb on a plane are one in a million. The chances of two people taking a bomb on a plane are one in a trillion. So if you're scared of a terrorist attack, bring a bomb on a plane.

#12 Saber

Saber

    Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts
  • Location:Schenectady, New York
  • State:New York
  • Country:United States

Posted 05 August 2009 - 10:05 PM

The Goo Gauge is just to show how much pressure is in the gun I believe. It was to mark how many pumps was needed for a full stock shot, once modded, I think the gauge is junk and you should just seal the thing up unless you want it for looks. I don't have one on hand but I've used a 3k before and after it was modded so if you've already removed it, then you should be safe... unless, you failed at sealing the thing.
  • 0
Do you like waffles? Pancakes?! French toast?!?!

~ Wardog Squad Scout


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users