Photo

At3k Rotation Mechanism

4 replies to this topic

#1 Militant Panda

Militant Panda

• Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 24 October 2007 - 11:16 PM

Good evening NH, I'm currently a worthless newbie, however, I've been lurking these forums for a month or two and as a result I've begun some noob-friendly modifications to two of my hand cannons. Now I've deemed it time for my maiden post! I recently stopped at a dollar store and picked up a two pack of the good old 3ks (last ones on the shelf!) after mumbling excessively to myself how annoying it was that most of the other stores only sell N-Strike stuff now and lack the selection of my childhood. Anyways, I told myself I wouldn't open them up and poke around until I finished re-barreling and tuning up at least my nitefinder (I at least need a stock to play with when I'm bored while my sidearms are in the works), but upon testing both I've noticed that one's rotation mechanism sounds like it's catching occasionally when I re-pump after a shot. I played with the other for a while and it doesn't seem to have any problem. Now, this doesn't bother me too much seeing as I can re-barrel the one with the 100% working rotation and simply single the (seemingly) sub-par one and get rid of it's (faulty) guts. In the meantime, however, as I do my research on barrel lengths and techniques and save up for a new hack saw (my last one was defective to say the least :P ) it's been bugging me that a perfectly good 3k sometimes takes an extra pump to rotate the turret. Now, seeing that I haven't had these very long and these are my first airtechs, my standards may be higher than the average blaster and I'm simply experiencing what is considered to be normal. I doubt it, however, seeing as my other one hasn't had this problem and now I'm posting in regards to hopefully get a higher resolution picture of the inside of an ATK3K for comparison to mine. I've seen pictures in a great deal of threads and writeups but I was hoping someone cou