Frames

Ugh!

8 replies to this topic

#1 Grinch

Grinch

• Members
  • 642 posts

Posted 25 August 2003 - 03:18 PM

I'm new to HTML and I can't figure out frames. I've read all the tutorials and I still just can't get 'em to work on my site. Can anybody help me out?

Example: This is what I type, but the page is still blank.

<html>
<head>
<title>Nick's Page</title>
</head>
<frameset rows="50,*">
<framename="default" src="default.htm">
<framename="navigation" src="navigation.htm">
</frameset>
</html>
Webmaster of Nerf World

Previously mrgrinch_nm!

#2 cxwq

cxwq

• Founders
  • 3,634 posts

Posted 25 August 2003 - 04:00 PM

Well, for starters you need a space in the frame tag:

<frame name="default" src="default.htm">

Additionally, I'd put some kind of path on the file, just to make it explicit. If your default.htm file is in the same directory, it would look like:

<frame name="default" src="./default.htm">
<meta name="cxwq" content="mostly water">

#3 rawray7

rawray7

• Members
  • 549 posts

Posted 25 August 2003 - 04:11 PM

i'm not quite sure if you need it, but i've always used a <body> after my </head> and a </body> before </html>
You, nerfboi, are the suckest gun. -neonerfer

#4 Grinch

Grinch

• Members
  • 642 posts

Posted 25 August 2003 - 04:28 PM

Well, for starters you need a space in the frame tag:

<frame name="default" src="default.htm">

Additionally, I'd put some kind of path on the file, just to make it explicit. If your default.htm file is in the same directory, it would look like:

<frame name="default" src="./default.htm">

Oh great, now I really feel like a fucking retard. :lol:

All I need was a damn space.
Webmaster of Nerf World

Previously mrgrinch_nm!

#5 Talio

Talio

Not your mother

• Contributors
  • 2,781 posts

Posted 25 August 2003 - 05:38 PM