Photo

Who Are You?

A tongue-in-cheek NERF rant.

57 replies to this topic

Poll: So, pick one! (162 member(s) have cast votes)

So, pick one!

You cannot see the results of the poll until you have voted. Please login and cast your vote to see the results of this poll.
Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 Pineapple

Pineapple

Old-school Admin

• Contributors
  • 1,377 posts

Posted 02 March 2006 - 12:44 PM

I’ve been frequenting Nerf-related forum boards since 2001, when I unceremoniously joined Nerf Online, largely as an observer. I also claim membership at various other discussion forums, in topics ranging from Microsoft Flight Simulator, to potato and spud guns, to fishing, to ocean kayaks, to modified golf carts, to family oriented forums.

I’ve observed the differing kind of flora and fauna that inhabit these said boards, and have drawn up several conclusive observations, in this instance concerning the forum boards pertaining to NERF products….

1) The “Nerfer”. This is the forum member who joins a board because he is genuinely and sincerely interested in Nerf, the amazing world of modifying Nerf blasters for improved performance, and conducting the mode of play that has been the traditional standard of Nerfers since my memory serves me (4-5 years back); Capture the Flag, and Elimination/ death match, and some others. They form loosely knit groups called clans, enjoy life, and shoot the breeze on the boards. I'm sure this represents the silent (and not-so silent) majority.