Photo

Nite Finder Help

18 replies to this topic

#1 darth killa

darth killa

• Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 10 November 2005 - 12:13 AM

hey guys im kinda new to this hobby. i need to know has anyone had problems with putting a larger spring in theirs? i put a 4.5 in brass barrel on it and i did the electrical tape on the plunger. if i need to reinforce it where should i do it and how. thanks ahead of time.
"And shepards we shall be, for thee, my Lord, for thee. Power hath decended forth from thy hand, that our feet may swiftly carry out thy command. So we shall flow a river forth unto thee, and teeming with souls shall it ever be, In Nomine Patris, Et Spiritus Sancti" - Boondock Saints

#2 Tytus Gerrish

Tytus Gerrish

• Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 10 November 2005 - 01:09 AM

The weak part of the NF is the end of the plunger you can use some epoxy on those parts to keep them from breaking.

I suppose if you so desired you could take a large washer from home depot and place it around the slide on the inside and make some notches in the plastic chassis to support it so the spring will have some metal to push on instead of that wimpy plastic.

I just stretched the spring and strapped 4 rubber bands around the slide, and it could hit my brother from 1 house and a half down the street.

Then turned a delrin replacement for the orange thing on a lathe and used a 2" .495"ID .563"OD brass tube on there and now my NF Puts dents into drywall.
EMAIL: TytusG@gmail.com
AIM: TYTUSGERRISH
MYSPACE: http://www.myspace.com/tytusg
PICTURES: http://tytus.multiply.com/

#3 The Inventor Guy

The Inventor Guy

• Members
  • 290 posts

Posted 10 November 2005 - 03:28 AM

Electrical tape is not necessary on a Nite Finder unless you're talking about the Nite Finder EX-3 version.
That is to say, the original Nite Finder has a good seal. And with electrical tape, after a while it gets so gooey that is comes off and rubs stickiness into your plunger tube.