#1 ompa

ompa

Introductinator

• Moderators
  • 2,368 posts

Posted 28 August 2005 - 11:13 PM

I finally got my laptop; I just changed this first post to be the review:

***Introduction***
As a soon-to-be college student, I was faced with the daunting task of picking which laptop I was to take with me into my decent into the infernal abyss of alcohol, otherwise known as college. I decided that I wanted a 14.1 widescreen, because 15 seemed too big and 13.3 fostered the use of an undersized keyboard. My choices ended up being the HP DV1000, the Sony FJ series and the Asus z63a. I strongly suggest you also look at the Asus line of laptops if you are considering the FJ. Especially the Asus W3V and Z63A. The HP just seems to be of worse build quality, so I’m hesitant to recommend looking at that.

***Reason for Buying***
The FJ170B just seemed to be of better quality than some of the other notebooks that I saw. It was mainly the build quality and screen that caused me to buy the Sony. I bought the laptop itself at Circuit City for $1349, and upgraded the ram myself.

***Customer Service***
I also decided to purchase an in-store warrantee, in fear that I might actually have to deal with Sony support eventually. I’ve had bad experiences, but I figured that the store warrantee couldn’t possibly be as bad as Sony’s customer support.

Posted Image

***Specifications***
-1.73ghz Pentium-m 533mhz fsb
-100gb 5400RPM SATA
-14.1 WXGA Eco-Xbrite
-DVD +-RW Burner
-Integrated Graphics (Intel GMA 900)

-512mb DDR 400mhz ram (I upgraded this to 1gb as soon as I bought it)

***Build Quality and Design***