Greetings

Introduction and some comments/questions

5 replies to this topic

#1 userjjb

userjjb

• Members
  • 57 posts

Posted 08 May 2005 - 09:14 AM

Hello all, allow me to introduce myself, my name is Josh, but you can call me userjjb, it's the name I use on most everything. I'm currently a college student at UMass Lowell in Massachusetts. Some friends of mine are nerfers and got me interested in it. I've spent the past couple days reading and learning what I can from the infinite wisdom of the many members here.

I'm excited about doing some mods. I plan on going to the store and picking up a couple of Nightfinders. I did a simple crayola barrel mod on my friend's NF but it didn't do much for range (using some micro stefans), I get about 35 ft which is crap for the NF I guess. I popped a second o-ring on the plunger, thinking it would give a better seal (which it did, it's much more airtight), but it didn't change the range any. I'm assuming that all that extra air is being wasted because the stefan leaves the barrel too early. Has anyone else had this problem?

To remedy this I plan on doing a nested brass barrel for it next. Hopefully the snug section of 7/16 will help with the wasted air. At first I worried that I'd have trouble finding brass tubing like some others, but I found the thread about DoItBest.com and there actually is a store right near me, so I plan going and picking up some brass on Monday, hopefully they will have it in stock.

It was much to my chagrin to find out that the Arrowstorm and Crossbow are in such demand. I actually have both at my mothers house in New York. Unfortunately, if I remember correctly both were in pretty poor condition. I'm eagerly awaiting my next visit to her house to see if they are salvageable.

Anyways, I suppose I have gone on long enough.
When life gives you lemons, simply say more morphine please.

#2 SwitchbladeatJM

SwitchbladeatJM

• Members
  • 80 posts

Posted 08 May 2005 - 09:21 AM