New Here

and my life story

4 replies to this topic

#1 pinhead52

pinhead52

• Members
  • 193 posts

Posted 04 March 2005 - 01:19 AM

Alright, to get started, I am a college student new to this whole field. Not that I've never modded anything before, I've been messing with stuff since I was a little kid... off story.

I am a sophomore in computer engineering, and just last semester re-discovered Nerf [some friends and I were walking through a wal-mart and we noticed the "Unity" system.] Anyway, after firing it and thinking "wow, this is weaker than I remember", I decided to look online to see if any teenagers with too much time on their hands had ever modded a nerf gun. I was surprized with what I found. I came back here after buying the maverick (because I'm a huge revolver fan). Unfortunately I've only found one good mav mod, but we'll see what I can pull off.

Also, I've noticed that nobody has tried rifling barrels, any reason for that? Oh well. With a university's tools at my fingertips, my own enginuity and the knowhow already demonstrated on this site, I should be able to pull off some cool stuff.

#2 cxwq

cxwq

• Founders
  • 3,634 posts

Posted 04 March 2005 - 01:33 AM

Rifling barrels isn't helpful because the projectiles are already front weighted. Given a weight appropriate to the gun's muzzle velocity, they fly true without any spin.

Welcome to the site, have fun with your new hobby!
<meta name="cxwq" content="mostly water">

#3 boltsniper

boltsniper

• Contributors
  • 591 posts

Posted 04 March 2005 - 12:21 PM

Like CX said. There is no need to spin stabilize a dart. They are already "weathervane" stabilized through a weighted tip. Rifling would just suck more energy out of the propulsion system and lead to shorter ranges.