Photo

Your Mission, If You Choose To Accept It.

Let's get this clip idea rolling

31 replies to this topic

#1 fredstickman

fredstickman

• Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 18 December 2004 - 02:51 AM

Hey guys,

Some of you might remember me, and then again, most of you won't, but that's cool. I'm dan, and I was the 9th registered member of Nerfhaven, apparently. It's great to see there's over 1000 registered now, very awesome. I was an admin over at NC back when it was up, and active on NO back in the day. I did a lot of modding and homemade work, but I sort of "outgrew nerf."

But, that's not really why I'm here. I had an awesome idea a few nights ago, and had to share it since I'll probably never have the time or interest to develop it. Besides, things move faster with more people. I tried logging on with my old account, but the password doesn't work or something. Whatever. I saved everyone some trouble and registered a new name.

Anyway, I always wanted to build a semi-auto nerf gun, which would require a clip. Now, building a clip is no cakewalk, as many of you might know. I see Ompa had some ideas (I've done my fair share of scouting on the boards) including a gravity-fed clip. Good. Glad to see someone's thinking. I tried making clips, both spring and gravity, with no success back in my heavy nerfing days.

So, I figured maybe I could find a pre-made clip. That's exactly what happened a few years later. I was sitting at my desk surfing the web on my new 1337 computer I built, fiddliing with a PEZ dispenser (10 point bonus to whomever can tell me the origin of the name PEZ and what it's short for). I thought, "This thing is cool. It's a magazine for candy." Most of our homemade things are designed for a totally different purpose. Our barrels are made for transporting water, our valves for sprinkeler systems, and our clips will be candy dispensers. The PEZ dispenser, with a little modification, can become the perfect nerf clip.