Jump to content


Photo

Catching darts?


3 replies to this topic

#1 ComradeSch

ComradeSch

    Member

  • Members
  • 92 posts
  • Location:V9Y 4V2
  • State:British Columbia
  • Country:Canada
  • LycanAuxiliary on Youtube

Posted 09 December 2017 - 11:51 PM

NOTE: Yes, I know that it's very, VERY unlikely that someone will catch a dart you fire at them, this is more or less just a topic I want some opinions on.

So, let's say that you fire a dart at someone in a war and they, by some miracle of the gods, manage to catch it before it hits them. Since it touched their hand, does it count as a tag? Or since they stopped the dart by grabbing it, does that count as a block?

What about if the dart would have missed but they catch it? Does that change anything?

Let me know what you think about this situation.


  • 0

Moar dakka iz best dakka ya gitz.


#2 Daniel Beaver

Daniel Beaver

    HQRSE CQCK

  • Moderators
  • 2,059 posts
  • NerfHaven Subscription Supporter
  • Location:Minneapolis
  • State:Minnesota
  • Country:United States

Posted 10 December 2017 - 11:06 AM

It would count as a tag. You would have to implement a specific rule to cover this case if you wanted to count it as being blocked (same with shields in general).


  • 0

#3 ToadBrews

ToadBrews

    Member

  • Members
  • 140 posts
  • Location:Dayton
  • State:Ohio
  • Country:United States
  • Andrew Nagy on Youtube

Posted 10 December 2017 - 07:57 PM

Rules for my club is if you alter or stop the travel of a projectile, that's a tag. Catch it, it stick in a pocket, it hits your blaster, it pops your retina out of place because you refuse to wear eyepro, those are all tags.

 

If you want something to not count as a tag (EG, manta rays or other shields, catching darts, blaster hits aren't tags, megas bust shields, etc) then just put it in your rules so people know to bring the right gear and play accordingly.


  • 0

#4 meow121325

meow121325

    Member

  • Members
  • 124 posts
  • Location:cedar falls iowa 50613
  • State:Iowa
  • Country:United States
  • u/meow121325 on Reddit
  • meow121325 on Youtube

Posted 15 February 2018 - 10:57 AM

NOTE: Yes, I know that it's very, VERY unlikely that someone will catch a dart you fire at them, this is more or less just a topic I want some opinions on.

So, let's say that you fire a dart at someone in a war and they, by some miracle of the gods, manage to catch it before it hits them. Since it touched their hand, does it count as a tag? Or since they stopped the dart by grabbing it, does that count as a block?

What about if the dart would have missed but they catch it? Does that change anything?

Let me know what you think about this situation.

it is not by some miracle of the gods it is. By some Herculean leap in logic that us meer mortals can't even HOPE to comprehend


Edited by CaptainSlug, 19 February 2018 - 08:24 AM.
USER WAS WARNED FOR THIS POST

  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users