Brass Breech (Sharpfire)

4 replies to this topic

#1 arcticajb

arcticajb

• Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 13 December 2016 - 01:33 PM

Hi guys,

I have read the thread on this but I want to do a different kind of brass breech (I think, sorry I am new to the whole brass breech thing) i have seen two videos of it done. One by Jay Nerf (https://www.youtube....h?v=RbPw1FTwgrk) and the other by WalcomS7 (https://www.youtube....h?v=DaGbg2LfvVw) and he shows how to do it in this video (https://www.youtube....h?v=-C3uh9wkzVY) at about 6:30. I was wondering which on is better? I have a sharpfire with all the locks and the AR drilled out along with a blasterparts 7kg spring for it.

Personally, I prefer WalcomS7's, but I don't fully understand how to do it, for example, can the receiving end of the brass be as long as the barrel and the attachment because  WalcomS7 doesn't have it like this as opposed to Jay Nerf's where he does.

So my questions are Witch breech is better? and can someone explain WalcomS7's in a little more detail, please ?          

Any help is greatly appreciated. 

Edited by arcticajb, 13 December 2016 - 01:58 PM.

Many Thanks,

Alexander Bertioli

#2 Zack the Mack

Zack the Mack

• Members
  • 360 posts

Posted 13 December 2016 - 03:41 PM

Both breeches operate the same way. The brass in the plunger tube slides snugly into the larger brass in the barrel extension. When you close the breech, the plunger brass slides into the barrel brass and makes a seal.

The difference is that Jay cut a tongue into the plunger brass and Walcom didn't. Otherwise, the mods are identical.

The tongue guides the plunger brass into the barrel brass, preventing it from misaligning and jamming open. It also provides a smooth guide rail to help you slide the dart into loaded position. Otherwise, it shouldn't affect performance or functionality.