Jump to content


Photo

Raven mod


45 replies to this topic

#1 Nerfguy2002

Nerfguy2002

    Member

  • Members
  • 89 posts
  • Location:Some where over the rainbow
  • State:Wisconsin
  • Country:United States

Posted 27 December 2015 - 01:07 AM

So I have this elite raven that just does not have the power I want. I decide to get some brass barrel, high end motors that spin at 25000 rpm, and some 2AA dummy batteries. Is their much more I should add. Im new to this site so go easy on me. I will continue to add stuff about it when I get the parts.  


  • 0

#2 TrexMan2003

TrexMan2003

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts
  • Location:belgium
  • Country:Belgium

Posted 27 December 2015 - 05:48 AM

First of all are you using Trustfires or IMRs because if using Trustfires then two will not be eneaugh. :P


  • 0

#3 Nerfguy2002

Nerfguy2002

    Member

  • Members
  • 89 posts
  • Location:Some where over the rainbow
  • State:Wisconsin
  • Country:United States

Posted 27 December 2015 - 01:26 PM

These motors spin at 25000 rpm at 2.4 volts so I think I am going to use 3 AA batteries.


  • 0

#4 laser

laser

    Member

  • Members
  • 38 posts
  • Location:melbourne victoria
  • State:Victoria
  • Country:Australia

Posted 27 December 2015 - 05:09 PM

you don't need a brass barrel on a flywheel blaster, also i would recommend taking out all the looks and rewire it with 18 gauge wire  


  • 0

#5 Nerfguy2002

Nerfguy2002

    Member

  • Members
  • 89 posts
  • Location:Some where over the rainbow
  • State:Wisconsin
  • Country:United States

Posted 27 December 2015 - 09:39 PM

It is already kinda modded. New wire, I don't know the gauge of the wire and all the locks plus the electrical locks are gone. If I don't need the brass barrel that would really help things. What about the retaliator barrel being replaced, is it worth it.   


  • 0

#6 CCBall

CCBall

    Member

  • Members
  • 82 posts
  • Location:Become an off-screen friend and find out.
  • State:Alabama
  • Country:United States
  • u/DerpFails on Reddit
  • DerpFails on Youtube

Posted 27 December 2015 - 09:56 PM

you don't need a brass barrel on a flywheel blaster, also i would recommend taking out all the looks and rewire it with 18 gauge wire  

*locks

Wow. Very fng. Much new.

But in all seriousness:

1. Rewire (18awg wire, better microswitch).

2. Better battery ().

3. Upgrade motors (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nt9VmEBjJ_s).

4. This (http://nerfhaven.com...dual-stage-mod/).

5. This (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3v1RtdrKd5M).

Those are the steps to upgrading a rayven.

You may want to replace the flywheels with metal ones (http://www.buychina....eel-xuvupopoqig) or replace the entire flywheel cage (contact dr,snikkas@gmx.de). You could also make the rayven compatable with stefans (http://nerfhaven.com/forums/topic/21973-nerf-rayven-mod-guide/).


  • 0
I'm just a nerd with Asperger's Syndrome and a few electronics.

#7 Nerfguy2002

Nerfguy2002

    Member

  • Members
  • 89 posts
  • Location:Some where over the rainbow
  • State:Wisconsin
  • Country:United States

Posted 28 December 2015 - 01:22 AM

 

3. Upgrade motors ().

 

I love the video of the motors. I can't decide to get the tamiya torque tuned motors or their is a tamiya jet dash motor which as more torque and more rpm. why wouldn't any one else get the jet dash motors. I take it the torque is for rev up speed. This is my first re-motoring so I have no clue what to use. Microswitchs, I don't think I'll need it because I am using such a low voltage. 6 Volts at the max.


Edited by Nerfguy2002, 28 December 2015 - 01:26 AM.

  • 0

#8 jwasko

jwasko

    PowerBeard

  • Moderators
  • 1,021 posts
  • Location:Pittsburgh, PA
  • State:Pennsylvania
  • Country:United States

Posted 28 December 2015 - 10:02 AM

I've never heard of Jet Dash motors, but most Tamiyas (including torque tuned) are rated to 2.4Volts as you said. They will burn up quickly if you go much over 3 volts...the highest I've ever heard of is 3.7volts (1S LiPo).

You probably don't need to worry about the switch because you are just using AA batteries in the stock tray, which is going to limit the current to your motors anyway.

On the other hand, I think Tamiya motors need high current so I'm not sure how well they will run on AA batteries.
  • 0

-Jwasko, STILL Sole Surviving member of Steel City Nerf and Sober Sister of the Sex Dwarves
We NERF ON all day, and FUCK OFF all night


#9 Nerfguy2002

Nerfguy2002

    Member

  • Members
  • 89 posts
  • Location:Some where over the rainbow
  • State:Wisconsin
  • Country:United States

Posted 28 December 2015 - 04:28 PM

On the other hand, I think Tamiya motors need high current so I'm not sure how well they will run on AA batteries.

I looked it up and I found out you can use AA batteries. Tamiya motors use 2.4 volts, how many more volts will I need to get two running at max speed. 


  • 0

#10 jwasko

jwasko

    PowerBeard

  • Moderators
  • 1,021 posts
  • Location:Pittsburgh, PA
  • State:Pennsylvania
  • Country:United States

Posted 28 December 2015 - 10:56 PM

In what application were AAs used with Tamiyas? In slot cars, or nerf? Did this include use of two motors at once, or just one?

 

Anyway, flywheel motors are wired in parallel, so the voltages do not add but the current does.

 

In other words, with two motors you still only need 2.4 volts. Those motors will demand twice the current, however.


  • 0

-Jwasko, STILL Sole Surviving member of Steel City Nerf and Sober Sister of the Sex Dwarves
We NERF ON all day, and FUCK OFF all night


#11 Nerfguy2002

Nerfguy2002

    Member

  • Members
  • 89 posts
  • Location:Some where over the rainbow
  • State:Wisconsin
  • Country:United States

Posted 29 December 2015 - 01:50 AM

In what application were AAs used with Tamiyas? In slot cars, or nerf? Did this include use of two motors at once, or just one?

 

Anyway, flywheel motors are wired in parallel, so the voltages do not add but the current does.

 

In other words, with two motors you still only need 2.4 volts. Those motors will demand twice the current, however.

It was used in nerf and this is what the guy said, "AA batteries will be fine for the Tamiya motors, most are designed for the mini 4WD series which run off standard AA's. However before you decide to put those motors in you'll need to do a full rewire with a good 18 or 16 gauge wire. With the standard wire in place you'll see barely any increase in performance."                But what kinda of batteries would work. I don't have much money to spend on it.


  • 0

#12 jwasko

jwasko

    PowerBeard

  • Moderators
  • 1,021 posts
  • Location:Pittsburgh, PA
  • State:Pennsylvania
  • Country:United States

Posted 29 December 2015 - 09:43 AM

If you are on a budget and whatnot, and you already have the Tamiyas, go ahead and try AA batteries with them. Better would be to use a 2.4Volt NiMH battery pack with them (they're not that expensive, but the charger can be pricey), but you can always do that upgrade later.

 

Do you have a link to the guy who said that quote?


  • 0

-Jwasko, STILL Sole Surviving member of Steel City Nerf and Sober Sister of the Sex Dwarves
We NERF ON all day, and FUCK OFF all night


#13 Nerfguy2002

Nerfguy2002

    Member

  • Members
  • 89 posts
  • Location:Some where over the rainbow
  • State:Wisconsin
  • Country:United States

Posted 29 December 2015 - 11:44 AM

I dont have the motors yet, and I am new to this so I don't know how to share links. I know, pretty pathetic. Can you share the link to those batteries. I look on amazon and only could find 8.4 batts. I all ready have a smart charger.


Edited by Nerfguy2002, 29 December 2015 - 11:48 AM.

  • 0

#14 jwasko

jwasko

    PowerBeard

  • Moderators
  • 1,021 posts
  • Location:Pittsburgh, PA
  • State:Pennsylvania
  • Country:United States

Posted 29 December 2015 - 01:43 PM

Just copy the URL/address from the top of your browser and paste it into your post. No need to get fancy.

 

What kind of charger (model and/or link, please).


  • 0

-Jwasko, STILL Sole Surviving member of Steel City Nerf and Sober Sister of the Sex Dwarves
We NERF ON all day, and FUCK OFF all night


#15 Nerfguy2002

Nerfguy2002

    Member

  • Members
  • 89 posts
  • Location:Some where over the rainbow
  • State:Wisconsin
  • Country:United States

Posted 29 December 2015 - 05:35 PM

here is the link

Tenergy Universal Smart Charger for RC/ Airsoft Battery/ NiMH/NiCd Battery Packs (6V - 12V

the only problem is its rated for 6-12 volts. I think I might just get the motors and experiment with batts and report back here.


  • 0

#16 DjOnslaught

DjOnslaught

    Member

  • Members
  • 350 posts
  • Location:Maryland
  • State:Maryland
  • Country:United States

Posted 29 December 2015 - 05:46 PM

I think you might be better off to get a battery and charger combo that wat you know that one works perfectly with the other.


  • 0

#17 jwasko

jwasko

    PowerBeard

  • Moderators
  • 1,021 posts
  • Location:Pittsburgh, PA
  • State:Pennsylvania
  • Country:United States

Posted 29 December 2015 - 10:03 PM

here is the link

Tenergy Universal Smart Charger for RC/ Airsoft Battery/ NiMH/NiCd Battery Packs (6V - 12V

the only problem is its rated for 6-12 volts. I think I might just get the motors and experiment with batts and report back here.

Oh, okay, do you already have batteries that work with this charger? Maybe one like this: http://www.amazon.co...F00HWFGY91C2Y7M

 

If you have an airsoft or R/C NiMH or NiCd pack already, you may be able to use it if you get the right motor; Tamiya motors aren't the best for nerf anyway. I would need to know the voltage of what battery packs you have, though.


  • 0

-Jwasko, STILL Sole Surviving member of Steel City Nerf and Sober Sister of the Sex Dwarves
We NERF ON all day, and FUCK OFF all night


#18 Nerfguy2002

Nerfguy2002

    Member

  • Members
  • 89 posts
  • Location:Some where over the rainbow
  • State:Wisconsin
  • Country:United States

Posted 30 December 2015 - 05:04 PM

I have a 8.4 volt stick batt for my airsoft gun, not sure were you would stick that. I have put it on with ducktape, a big eyesore, thats what you would call it. What are those other motors called. If possible I kinda want them the same size so I don't have to mod the shell. That would be really nice. I will try looking my self, but like I said, I am new to this. How about these Solarbotics RM2 (high-power motor for GM2/3/8/9)


Edited by Nerfguy2002, 30 December 2015 - 05:06 PM.

  • 0

#19 jwasko

jwasko

    PowerBeard

  • Moderators
  • 1,021 posts
  • Location:Pittsburgh, PA
  • State:Pennsylvania
  • Country:United States

Posted 31 December 2015 - 12:20 AM

You could try the RM2 that you linked. Use 4x AA batteries with them, and they work okay. The do use metal brushes, so they can wear out fairly quickly...they will wear out really quickly if you use anything more than 4x AAs.
 
If they do stop working on you, though, you can replace the worn out brushes with better, carbon brushes using this guide: http://britnerf.myfr...C_about826.html(You could also just do this mod on the RM2 motors when they are new, if you want, and they will last much longer)
 
You'll need to do some soldering to swap the motors, and to take out the any PTCs, but you really won't need to do a full rewire or switch replacement to get it running (although rewiring and re-switching are always better!)
 
You might be able to use that 8.4Volt pack with a pair of these motors
http://www.ebay.com/itm/231202841144
Or these ones (often referred to as "Banshees")
http://www.ebay.com/itm/231726371857
 
At least, those two both work with 2S LiPo batteries (with can be charged as high as 8.4volts). Of course, you'll need to completely re-wire to use the battery pack.
 
Just trying to minimize your expenses here and use what you already have. I realize the 8.4V pack is probably big, so I can understand why you may not want to use it. For you, I might recommend starting off with the RM2s.
 
Later, if you want really good performance (still without doing any major shell mods) you could get a couple MTB Rhino motors, a 3S LiPo (this is one of the smaller 3S LiPos that will run Rhinos, but I don't know if the battery will fit in a Rayven without some clever cutting and fitting), and a LiPo charger (this is a cheap one that only charges 2s or 3s). You will also need to do a full rewire with probably 16gauge stranded wire, a battery pack connector, and you might as well put in a new switch too.

 

Be aware that LiPo battery packs can be quite dangerous. An electrical short will cause a very dangerous fire, and they even have some special storage requirements. So make sure you know what you're doing before you buy one!

 

Edit: Oh, you'll also need some sort of voltage checker/alarm to use with the LiPo. This one is a little big to put in/on a blaster, but it does easily plug/unplug.


Edited by jwasko, 31 December 2015 - 12:34 AM.

  • 0

-Jwasko, STILL Sole Surviving member of Steel City Nerf and Sober Sister of the Sex Dwarves
We NERF ON all day, and FUCK OFF all night


#20 Nerfguy2002

Nerfguy2002

    Member

  • Members
  • 89 posts
  • Location:Some where over the rainbow
  • State:Wisconsin
  • Country:United States

Posted 31 December 2015 - 11:35 PM

That is very helpful. I just got a strife today. Will these motors work with that? I am pretty sure it will work, do you? Thanks.  


  • 0

#21 jwasko

jwasko

    PowerBeard

  • Moderators
  • 1,021 posts
  • Location:Pittsburgh, PA
  • State:Pennsylvania
  • Country:United States

Posted 02 January 2016 - 12:38 PM

Any motor that will work in the Rayven should also work in a stryfe, and vice versa.


  • 0

-Jwasko, STILL Sole Surviving member of Steel City Nerf and Sober Sister of the Sex Dwarves
We NERF ON all day, and FUCK OFF all night


#22 Nerfguy2002

Nerfguy2002

    Member

  • Members
  • 89 posts
  • Location:Some where over the rainbow
  • State:Wisconsin
  • Country:United States

Posted 02 January 2016 - 09:48 PM

would these work better Brushed DC Motor: 130-Size, 6V, 11.5kRPM, 800mA Stall I know the other ones will work but at 6 volts it says it will burn up fast. I know I can get new brushes. I just want to know if these will last longer then the other ones.   


  • 0

#23 DjOnslaught

DjOnslaught

    Member

  • Members
  • 350 posts
  • Location:Maryland
  • State:Maryland
  • Country:United States

Posted 03 January 2016 - 02:42 PM

What kinda motor are you actually gonna use? If you use the ones you linked earlier in the post then you need 3 or 4 normal AA batteries, if you run the ones linked above then you could getaway with 2 imr/trustfire batteries and 2 dummies if I'm not mistaken.
  • 0

#24 jwasko

jwasko

    PowerBeard

  • Moderators
  • 1,021 posts
  • Location:Pittsburgh, PA
  • State:Pennsylvania
  • Country:United States

Posted 03 January 2016 - 03:06 PM

would these work better Brushed DC Motor: 130-Size, 6V, 11.5kRPM, 800mA Stall I know the other ones will work but at 6 volts it says it will burn up fast. I know I can get new brushes. I just want to know if these will last longer then the other ones.   

No. 11.5k RPM is too slow. You would have to run it at 12+volts to get it spinning fast enough (double the voltage gives double the speed), and then you'd be having the same issue as the RM2s.

 

I'm not sure what RM2s are "supposed" to be run at, but both the RM2 and this motor need to be overvolted a good bit in order to be useful for nerf. ANd when you overvolt, you shorten motor life.


  • 0

-Jwasko, STILL Sole Surviving member of Steel City Nerf and Sober Sister of the Sex Dwarves
We NERF ON all day, and FUCK OFF all night


#25 DjOnslaught

DjOnslaught

    Member

  • Members
  • 350 posts
  • Location:Maryland
  • State:Maryland
  • Country:United States

Posted 03 January 2016 - 03:12 PM

No. 11.5k RPM is too slow. You would have to run it at 12+volts to get it spinning fast enough (double the voltage gives double the speed), and then you'd be having the same issue as the RM2s.
 
I'm not sure what RM2s are "supposed" to be run at, but both the RM2 and this motor need to be overvolted a good bit in order to be useful for nerf. ANd when you overvolt, you shorten motor life.


What if you wired each motor to separate sets of batteries, which would allow them to get higher volts without actually overvolting them? I know given nerf battery compartments run the batteries in parallel which naturally generates lower volts then I'm series, if you used higher voltage batteris it might be doable, especially if you could keep the Rev trigger firing both motors.

Edited by DjOnslaught, 03 January 2016 - 03:16 PM.

  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users