Photo

Need advice on a Rapidstrike mod

9 replies to this topic

#1 Deathless

Deathless

• Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 09 October 2015 - 07:57 PM

I'm working on a commission for a friend and they were a little specific as to what they wanted. They requested a performance upgrade above stock (range/fps/dps). However They do not want to have to use any specialty batteries/charger as they will only be using the blaster occasionally as a cosplay prop.
I was thinking about just using a AA battery tray, either 6 or 8 cell(alkaline) to increase the voltage. Now I was wondering if this specific power source requires removal of the thermistor, removal of the motor pcb or motor rewire. I was just hoping to use the stock wiring in the rest of the blaster (apart from removal of the locks).

I'm somewhat new to internal modding of nerf flywheel blasters so any constructive advice would be greatly appreciated.

#2 Birch

Birch

• Members
  • 181 posts

Posted 10 October 2015 - 06:47 AM

Yea, just put an 8 AA battery tray in the normal battery slot. It ups voltage a bit, but it gives so much more current than trustfires.

It's like a Hurricane ate a Tornado and shat out a Monsoon!!

#3 Lunas

Lunas

• Members
  • 142 posts

Posted 10 October 2015 - 04:10 PM

Yea, just put an 8 AA battery tray in the normal battery slot. It ups voltage a bit, but it gives so much more current than trustfires.

he may wish to go with a 6 battery tray 12v will probably trip the thermistor... 9v will give it some punch not burn the motors as fast but using alkaline or NiMH will have a shorter run time than Lipo or li-mn

i run with 2 IMR 18650 if i was doing it over i would probably still go that route. But 26650 would fit in the tray too you just need to put a 1 inch spacer on the batteries. The charger is not that special a nitecore d4 and it will charge any li-ion and NiMH and NiCd and LiFePSO4

#4 Heatblast016

Heatblast016

• Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 13 October 2015 - 05:00 PM