Photo

Motor replacement help

8 replies to this topic

#1 BlackStar

BlackStar

• Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 29 July 2014 - 09:01 PM

Im new to modding flywheel blasters and the only one I had on hand was the Rapidstrike CS-18. So I was following coop's guide (really detailed and nice) but while rewiring the flywheels, I took coops words that you dont need to be careful with the circuit board too seriously and ripped it off along with one of my motor leads. I searched what to do and all the answers said to replace the motors but i needed to finish putting back the blaster that day so i took the endbell off of a standard 130 motor and replaced the ruined one with it. I put it back together and hooked it up to an old 9.6 volts nicad pack I found and it was working beautifully but after a few minutes, I began to smell burning. Then I realized the replacement brush was probably only rated for around 3 volts. It still works at the moment but I decided I need replacement motors. I did look into RM2s but they probably cant handle the current the nicad supplied (lot more than fires) and they add up plus shipping. I was looking for motors on ebay and found these: http://www.ebay.com/...=item35d923719c
I would like to know all of your opinions on these motors and if they arent too great, im open to suggestion (given they arent very expensive, around the price range of these) .
Hai doods

#2 xXhunter47Xx

xXhunter47Xx

• Members
  • 80 posts

Posted 29 July 2014 - 09:21 PM

Burning smell is normal. Don't fire continuously, and don't keep the motors revved for too long. The rev time is probably low since you over-volted it so you can afford to keep it off. Don't worry about it until something catches fire.

#3 BlackStar

BlackStar

• Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 29 July 2014 - 11:04 PM