Jump to content


Photo

Weird stampede issue


17 replies to this topic

#1 jfrazz21

jfrazz21

    Member

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  • Location:Eden Prairie
  • State:Minnesota
  • Country:United States

Posted 26 May 2014 - 01:58 PM

I just received a stampede from a friend in a trade that he claimed to be broken. Apparently he got it 2 years ago and right out of the box it had issues. It would fire around 5-20 times, and then it would slow down and stop for a while. It couldn't fire and the gun would make a weird whirring noise. After an hour or two, it would work again. I have tried replacing the batteries, but that didn't work well. I have removed the AR and I am going to solder a 4 aa battery pack up to the tray so I can use 4 trustfires, but I am wondering how I'm going to fix this problem. Have any of you experienced anything like this before? I'm going to see if replacing the catch spring does anything, but after that I have got nothing :/
  • 0

#2 Xenomorph1320-D

Xenomorph1320-D

    Member

  • Members
  • 20 posts
  • Location:in your air vents :D=c
  • State:California
  • Country:United States

Posted 26 May 2014 - 02:33 PM

hmmm. Maybe the motor is bad? you could replace it with something like this: http://www.puffinmod...t.php?prod=1671

Edited by Xenomorph1320-D, 26 May 2014 - 02:33 PM.

  • 0
In space No one can hear you mod.

#3 Mully

Mully

    Member

  • Members
  • 342 posts
  • Location:La
  • State:California
  • Country:United States

Posted 26 May 2014 - 02:42 PM

If it can fire 15-20x before stopping, you don't have a catch problem. It sounds like the motor has a defect, I've purchased quite a few blasters brand new that had preexisting conditions.
Getting a firing vid up of it would be super helpful.
  • 0
S.C.U.N.

#4 jfrazz21

jfrazz21

    Member

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  • Location:Eden Prairie
  • State:Minnesota
  • Country:United States

Posted 26 May 2014 - 02:59 PM

I shall get a firing video up later today. I have also noted that the stock ROF was slower than a normal stampedes when it did fire. Would that motor that you posted match the one in the stampede? EDIT: sometimes I could fire 40-50 times straight. This was when I was using 2 9vs instead of the stock D batteries.

Edited by jfrazz21, 26 May 2014 - 03:08 PM.

  • 0

#5 Xenomorph1320-D

Xenomorph1320-D

    Member

  • Members
  • 20 posts
  • Location:in your air vents :D=c
  • State:California
  • Country:United States

Posted 26 May 2014 - 03:25 PM

I shall get a firing video up later today. I have also noted that the stock ROF was slower than a normal stampedes when it did fire. Would that motor that you posted match the one in the stampede? EDIT: sometimes I could fire 40-50 times straight. This was when I was using 2 9vs instead of the stock D batteries.


Well this is the one in one of my stampedes: http://www.redrocket...bq6rDBLfjPD_BwE

You are gonna have to remove the pinion gear on it by cutting it somehow and it's longer than a stock stampede motor so your gonna have to cut a hole for it in the shell.
  • 0
In space No one can hear you mod.

#6 jfrazz21

jfrazz21

    Member

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  • Location:Eden Prairie
  • State:Minnesota
  • Country:United States

Posted 26 May 2014 - 03:30 PM

Well crap. I didn't want to do any more work on it but whatever I guess. Is that motor more powerful than a regular stampede motor?
  • 0

#7 Xenomorph1320-D

Xenomorph1320-D

    Member

  • Members
  • 20 posts
  • Location:in your air vents :D=c
  • State:California
  • Country:United States

Posted 26 May 2014 - 03:35 PM

Well crap. I didn't want to do any more work on it but whatever I guess. Is that motor more powerful than a regular stampede motor?



Yes it would be more powerful but if you don't want to do any cutting you could just use this: http://www.ebay.com/...8859712?lpid=82
It's the exact same size as the stock motor but it can handle up to a 9kg spring at 18-20 volts but it should work just fine with whatever your running through it.
  • 0
In space No one can hear you mod.

#8 jfrazz21

jfrazz21

    Member

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  • Location:Eden Prairie
  • State:Minnesota
  • Country:United States

Posted 26 May 2014 - 03:52 PM

Yes it would be more powerful but if you don't want to do any cutting you could just use this: http://www.ebay.com/...8859712?lpid=82
It's the exact same size as the stock motor but it can handle up to a 9kg spring at 18-20 volts but it should work just fine with whatever your running through it.

Alright that sounds pretty good. I probably will end up buying the second one you listed. Thanks a lot!
  • 0

#9 Xenomorph1320-D

Xenomorph1320-D

    Member

  • Members
  • 20 posts
  • Location:in your air vents :D=c
  • State:California
  • Country:United States

Posted 26 May 2014 - 04:00 PM

Alright that sounds pretty good. I probably will end up buying the second one you listed. Thanks a lot!


Anytime! If you have any other problems you can PM me
  • 0
In space No one can hear you mod.

#10 azrael

azrael

    Member

  • Members
  • 393 posts
  • State:California
  • Country:United States

Posted 26 May 2014 - 04:20 PM

If you use a good battery, instead of wiring crappy 9vs in series, 16.8v is MORE than enough up to 12kg. By this I mean NiMH or LiPo or IMR. Not Trustfires or 9v - those batteries are poor choices for overvolting due to their poor current supply.
  • 0
Better Nerf By Science!
http://nerfscience.blogspot.com/

#11 jfrazz21

jfrazz21

    Member

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  • Location:Eden Prairie
  • State:Minnesota
  • Country:United States

Posted 26 May 2014 - 04:30 PM

Like an airsoft battery? Or what were you thinking of?
  • 0

#12 Xenomorph1320-D

Xenomorph1320-D

    Member

  • Members
  • 20 posts
  • Location:in your air vents :D=c
  • State:California
  • Country:United States

Posted 26 May 2014 - 04:38 PM

Like an airsoft battery? Or what were you thinking of?


this is the LIPO battery I use in my stampede: http://www.amazon.co...m/dp/B004UZD4Q8
  • 0
In space No one can hear you mod.

#13 jfrazz21

jfrazz21

    Member

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  • Location:Eden Prairie
  • State:Minnesota
  • Country:United States

Posted 26 May 2014 - 04:47 PM

Yea now I know what you are talking about. That would require me to buy a new smart charger and stuff 😕. I probably will buy one of those eventually but right now I'm going to see how the trustfires work. Is the difference between the trustfires and the lipo substantial?
  • 0

#14 PBZ

PBZ

    Cap'n Whitebeard

  • Members
  • 140 posts
  • Location:York, PA
  • State:Pennsylvania
  • Country:United States

Posted 27 May 2014 - 10:31 AM

Personally, I do not understand the widespread dislike of Trustfires. They are cheap, rechargeable, and last for a great length of time (more than several HvZ games for me). I use 4 of the 14500 unprotected's in my stampistol and have never had an issue. I also have upgraded the springs, removed electronic locks, and direct wired the motor and trigger. I get around 6-7 rounds a second when they are fully charged, and more like 4 when they are empty.
I have met more than a few others in the HvZ community that also use TF's to power their blasters (of several types) and have never had a problem.
  • 0
"There's nothing quite like hunting children." -VACC

#15 jfrazz21

jfrazz21

    Member

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  • Location:Eden Prairie
  • State:Minnesota
  • Country:United States

Posted 27 May 2014 - 11:10 AM

Personally, I do not understand the widespread dislike of Trustfires. They are cheap, rechargeable, and last for a great length of time (more than several HvZ games for me). I use 4 of the 14500 unprotected's in my stampistol and have never had an issue. I also have upgraded the springs, removed electronic locks, and direct wired the motor and trigger. I get around 6-7 rounds a second when they are fully charged, and more like 4 when they are empty.
I have met more than a few others in the HvZ community that also use TF's to power their blasters (of several types) and have never had a problem.

Yes, I have never had any problems with trustfire 14500s. I use them in my stryfes and barricades, and I plan to use them in my stampede. How hard would it be to replace the motor in the stampede? I have a basic understanding of electronics and I have a few friends who have a wide knowledge, but I would like to know how difficult this will be.
  • 0

#16 Xenomorph1320-D

Xenomorph1320-D

    Member

  • Members
  • 20 posts
  • Location:in your air vents :D=c
  • State:California
  • Country:United States

Posted 27 May 2014 - 12:09 PM

Yes, I have never had any problems with trustfire 14500s. I use them in my stryfes and barricades, and I plan to use them in my stampede. How hard would it be to replace the motor in the stampede? I have a basic understanding of electronics and I have a few friends who have a wide knowledge, but I would like to know how difficult this will be.


All you will have to do is remove 2 screws holding the motor in place, cut the wires and remove the pinion gear (I use a flat head screwdriver to pry it off) and put it on the replacement motor. Then you just figure out the correct polarity of the motor wires, solder them on and reinstall the bracket.

Edited by Xenomorph1320-D, 27 May 2014 - 12:10 PM.

  • 0
In space No one can hear you mod.

#17 jfrazz21

jfrazz21

    Member

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  • Location:Eden Prairie
  • State:Minnesota
  • Country:United States

Posted 27 May 2014 - 12:27 PM

That doesn't sound too hard. I will try to find a motor now. EDIT: well, I got my 4 aa battery holder today. I ghetto taped the leads to the connectors and dropped in 4 trustfires. That seemed to work really well, and it hasn't really stopped. I have tried about 3 mags and it works flawlessly. This is so weird. I think im still going to get a new motor, just in case anything happens. Edit #2: Well, I have looked around at some youtube videos, and I have seen that my stampede is firing slower than other stampedes on the same voltage. I believe there is a problem with the motor, and I should be able to increase the ROF by getting a new one.

Edited by jfrazz21, 27 May 2014 - 05:56 PM.

  • 0

#18 T3kn0Hazard

T3kn0Hazard

    Member

  • Members
  • 12 posts
  • Location:Playa Wastelands
  • State:Nevada
  • Country:United States

Posted 13 June 2014 - 03:57 PM

Keep in mind for the future,if you have a flawed nerf gun that you don't want to put time into, you can always send it back to Hasbro and get a free replacement, so long as its isn't modded, though you can open it up. If they don't have the exact one they will send you the original retail value equivalent blaster, which is often just as cool/cooler. IE. I sent in a stockade with motor issues and got the new orange stryfe back. You don't even have to have a receipt or packaging.

Edited by T3kn0Hazard, 13 June 2014 - 03:57 PM.

  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users