I'd like a suggestion.

Simple opinion, really.

6 replies to this topic

#1 Darkdragon

Darkdragon

• Members
  • 112 posts

Posted 21 April 2014 - 07:10 PM

Ok, I'm not sure if a question like this has a place, Please dont slap me if it does.... :(

My little cousin is starting to become a little engineer... He's 10 now, and I want to get him into homemades. I've only built a few myself, so I'm no expert. What I ask is for suggestions on what we should build for him first. I'm going to help(power tool guidance, etc.), but I want him to control most of the build process. The only thing Ive actually built myself is a SNAP and SNAP Carbine... so this'll be an experience for the both of us. That said, what homemade do you guys will be simple enough other than a .... SNAP? It doesnt have to wreak havoc, but I dont want to have him too far outclassed by everyone's laser shoooters, and I'm hoping theres a write-up or something on it I can find.

Oh, and if it doesnt hurt too much, can you offer a little reason why it might be a good build for a kid?

Cheers,
-Darkdragon

Edited by Darkdragon, 21 April 2014 - 07:13 PM.

Please visit my youtube:
https://www.youtube....d61VYhVvhEfeqGA

#2 Anole

Anole

• Members
  • 33 posts

Posted 21 April 2014 - 07:56 PM

I just finished my AaBow, which I call the Practical Tactical Shotbow. My writeup is coming soon. It was incredibly simple, and shoots 120+ flat. My barrel is long enough to load 10 darts at once, and they get ranges of 55-65 feet flat. I would choose this because it is simple and if you use multiple darts it doesn't hurt. But if he uses one dart it will hurt.
"...your local chapter of the Society for the Preservation and Encouragement of Local Free-range Organic Butt Touchers like Beavs" ~ Langley
NCRV- Are you in?

#3 Mully

Mully

• Members
  • 342 posts

Posted 21 April 2014 - 08:22 PM

It takes quite a bit of force to prime most homemades; a springer may be to difficult for a ten year old to use.