Photo

Will Custom Darts Work in Stock Barrels?

Would like to know before I start making my own darts

9 replies to this topic

#1 Toast

Toast

• Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 03 July 2013 - 11:18 PM

I'm about to venture into homemade darts because I've read, and been told, that they're going to be more accurate than stock Elites. However I've been reading around and I'm a little confused because it sounds like if I'm making my own darts, then it's absolutely necessary to use a custom barrel in my blaster. Is it true that DIY darts require custom barrels? At the moment my main concern is accuracy, followed with maintaining a good distance. But I'm not ready to mod out the barrel of my blasters. I'm just getting into this stuff :) I'm only considering making darts because I was unpleasantly surprised at the 3' spread my Elite Alpha Trooper CS-12 was spitting at just 25-35 feet.

Currently I have a modded Maverick (AR, compressed spring [stock], barrel extension); EAT12 (planned: 5kg spring, AR, lock removal). I'm probably going to also get a Strongarm and Retaliator.

So will DIY darts help accuracy in stock-barrel blasters (including clips)? I've read through several DIY dart articles but none specifically say if the former requires the latter.

Thank you!

#2 evilbunnyo

evilbunnyo

• Members
  • 404 posts

Posted 03 July 2013 - 11:32 PM

When you say custom darts are you referring to slugs/stefans or xplorer type put together darts? Either way yes you need different barrels to achieve better performance. The most common used barrel material is cvpc or petg. However since you only have nerf blaster and, it sounds like you lack the knowledge to rebarrel and breach the blasters, that won't be an option either. You might be able to rebarrel your maverick with minimal skills.
Silence is golden but duct tape is silver

#3 Funky Mutha Facko

Funky Mutha Facko

• Members
  • 118 posts

Posted 04 July 2013 - 08:58 AM