15 replies to this topic

#1 FountainPenFan

FountainPenFan

• Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 29 March 2013 - 11:40 PM

Cosmetic primary view.
Posted Image

Hello all. This is my first time back to NerfHaven for a long time (close to six years ago.) Some of you may remember me as member Mr. Tubb. Since then I've earned my Eagle rank in the Boy Scouts of America, graduated high school, and am studying at CSU Long Beach to get a BS in Mechanical Engineering. But, you didn't click this topic for a biography, so I'll get on to the design.

I drafted this a few days ago in Google's Sketchup modeling freeware (which I am quite fond of.) I did not draft the extension springs (example) because that would be somewhat of a pain with this program.

Extension springs will be emplaced between the bolts (blue) of the crossbar (goldenrod) and the priming bolt (blue) that runs through the dart sled (bright green.)

Pulling the dart sled (bright green) back will store tension in the springs. This tension will be stored until ready to fire by rotating the catch block (darkest green) such that the handle is flush with the frame (yellow), capturing the bolt pin (white) that is screwed into the mount (purple.) It will operate similar to what I believe are called dead man's triggers (such as those sadly used in suicide bombs) meaning that after one's hand leaves the handle the catch block should rotate about its pin (blue) and release the bolt pin. This will send the dart sled sliding down the rail, at the end of which the dart (loosely mounted on the white plastic straw shown on the front of the bolt sled) should be launched.

Technical primary view.
Posted Image
Technical side view
Posted Image
Technical trigger view
Posted Image
Technical side view, trigger released.
Posted Image
Sled/rail view while primed.
Posted Image
Sled/rail view after firing.
Posted Image

Thank you for reading. Any thoughts you might have would be appreciated, and I would be happy to answer any questions.

EDIT