Stefan Questions

6 replies to this topic

#1 dldmaui

dldmaui

• Members
  • 4 posts
  • State:New Jersey

Posted 24 July 2012 - 04:32 PM

NOOB ALERT: If you couldn't tell already I'm new to making stefans and also to this site (or at least posting on it). Well, the question I have is what size of FBR should I use for making stefans to fit in quarter inch cpvc? I use this size of cpvc because it fits streamlines perfectly and so far I've been using old stock darts and turning them into stefans. These stefans obviously fit in the cpvc just like my streamlines do, but sadly they're expensive to make.

P.S. I have done research, but i haven't found anything that answers my questions so if there is a website or topic that already answers this then please link it :)

#2 lasagna678

lasagna678

• Members
  • 65 posts
  • State:Michigan

Posted 24 July 2012 - 04:46 PM

The question I have is what size of FBR should I use for making stefans to fit in quarter inch cpvc?
I have done research, but I haven't found anything that answers my questions so if there is a website or topic that already answers this then please link it :)

The smart ass reply is whatever fits.
But if your research fails you, take a measuring ruler (calipers are preferred) and measure the Inside diameter of your PVC. Go to the FBR section and measure the OD of the foam and whamo, you got your sizes. Obviously, you don't want a OD foam that is larger than your ID PVC. They wont fit. When choosing a foam, look for how snug a piece fits in there. You should be able to push it into the PVC without much resistance from friction, but you should not have to force it into the PVC. Consider the distances around the dart and the PVC wall and see how much air will be lost by flying around the dart. Use common Sense. If not, buy a few sizes, make a few darts, and range test for the best sizes. You should be okay with a 1/2" OD FBR.