Photo

Nerf, Nozzles, And Fluid Dynamics

Can nozzles be used effectively in Nerf?

20 replies to this topic

#1 imaseoulman

imaseoulman

• Members
  • 1,005 posts

Posted 18 August 2010 - 04:48 PM

This is something I've wondered about for quite some time. Typically we only give thought to maximizing air flow, limiting dead space, and generally creating flow paths with the least resistance possible. What I wonder about is the possibility of using nozzles to increase the speed of the air entering and expanding in the barrel, thereby increasing acceleration of the dart. I don't have a very strong background in physics or engineering (I majored in psychology) but I have had classes on fluid dynamics and their applications.

In steam plants, we utilize "air ejectors" to help create a vacuum to which we exhaust steam after it leaves the turbine. The air ejectors "suck" air out of a system by accelerating steam through a nozzle to such a high speed that the pressure drops to a near perfect vacuum and through eduction and entrainment "pulls" the air out of the system it's attached to.

For those of you familiar with fluid dynamics, we know that mass flow rate = density * area * speed. So as the fluid enters the nozzle and it becomes more restrictive (the diameter goes down) the speed goes to maintain constant mass flow rate. The unique thing about nozzles is that after it reaches the critical pressure ratio in the throat (most restrictive part of convergent divergent nozzle) as the fluid expands again, it continues to accelerate, instead of slowing down again.

Here is a more detailed explanation with pressure-velocity and mollier diagrams.

So, for those of you with more understanding of physics and machining than I have, is there a way to incorporate this into Nerf applications? Could it allow shorter barrels due to increased acceleration? Is there any way to use the convergent divergent idea?