Jump to content


Photo

Singled Rapidfire 20

New Mods

12 replies to this topic

#1 imperious

imperious

    Member

  • Members
  • 32 posts

Posted 27 July 2009 - 09:12 PM

I got a RF20 for $2.00 :lol: but it was broken so i did this.

Parts
3/4 cpvc
1/2 cpvc
3/4 to 1/2 cpvc coupler


Remove this part.
Posted Image

Cut a piece of 3/4 cpvc and glue it in place.
Posted Image
Posted Image
This will replace the black part that was taken off.

The 3/4 cpvc should stick out like this.
Posted Image

Put on the 3/4 to 1/2 cpvc coupler.
Posted Image

Cut a 12in. 1/2 cpvc barrel.
Posted Image

Cut a small piece of cpvc to keep this part pushed down.
Posted Image

New mods

I took e-tape wrapped it around under the o-ring.
Posted Image
Then cut the e-tape so it fits.
Posted Image


Now add a rubber band on this part.
Posted Image
put the rubber band on this.
Posted Image

Finished
Posted Image

To load the gun remove barrel and put the dart in the 3/4 cpvc. This must be done to get best range.

For the single shot 10 pumps.

The rannge is 50-60.

Edited by imperious, 29 July 2009 - 03:38 PM.

  • 0

#2 BoneRiot

BoneRiot

    Member

  • Members
  • 76 posts
  • Location:Buffalo, NY

Posted 27 July 2009 - 09:24 PM

How many pumps are you giving it for the single shot?

Is that part changed in any way or does it just act as usual but only have one dart to shoot, in which case seeing an inline clip might be interesting.
  • 0
They call me Afro Thunder
QUOTE(CaptainSlug)

Your member account at NerfHaven has been temporarily suspended for 9,999 days.

#3 imperious

imperious

    Member

  • Members
  • 32 posts

Posted 27 July 2009 - 09:32 PM

25 pumps and act as usual but after a dart fires. It has a lot of air in it stil so off 25 pumps i can shoot 3-4 darts.
a inline clip is not a good idea, i did start the mod with one but it shoot 2ft.

Edited by imperious, 27 July 2009 - 09:37 PM.

  • 0

#4 iMod1

iMod1

    Member

  • Members
  • 117 posts
  • Location:Poway, California 92064

Posted 27 July 2009 - 09:34 PM

I don't think it should be getting the range you say it gets. The stock valve is meant for a slow leak of air to power a continuous piston, not a rapid release of air.
-iMod

Edited by iMod1, 27 July 2009 - 09:34 PM.

  • 0
A computer once beat me at chess, but after that it was no match for me at kick boxing.
_______________
The Phoenix | Foam Universe

#5 mountain nerfer

mountain nerfer

    Member

  • Members
  • 15 posts
  • Location:Wisconsin

Posted 27 July 2009 - 09:38 PM

I don't think it should be getting the range you say it gets. The stock valve is meant for a slow leak of air to power a continuous piston, not a rapid release of air.
-iMod

It does work fairly well I only got 50ft but still pretty good.
  • 0
---
Make something idiot proof, and someone will make a better idiot.

#6 imperious

imperious

    Member

  • Members
  • 32 posts

Posted 27 July 2009 - 09:42 PM

I will check i mite be off on the range.
  • 0

#7 Banshee

Banshee

    Member

  • Members
  • 668 posts
  • Location:Chandler, Arizona

Posted 27 July 2009 - 09:56 PM

The air that propels the dart isn't even from the tank, its from the small cylinder at the front. Singling it might get you 40 feet level. Another thing, make sure you're measurements are level, that's how we do it here. But I highly doubt that you'd get much better range than the RF20 gets with the turret.
  • 0
Like my page on Facebook! PM me, I do commissions!

#8 dizzyduck

dizzyduck

    Member

  • Members
  • 627 posts
  • Location:Louisville, Kentucky
  • State:Kentucky
  • Country:United States

Posted 27 July 2009 - 09:57 PM

I know you did this to a broken RF20, but 25 pumps for one shot seems kind of ridiculous.
  • 0
Duck off.
Art & Stuff

#9 iMod1

iMod1

    Member

  • Members
  • 117 posts
  • Location:Poway, California 92064

Posted 27 July 2009 - 09:59 PM

I don't mean to offend you guys, but the dart shouldn't be even coming out of the barrel. I did a similar project with a magstrike, and the stock valve got me nowhere. Maybe because the RF20 fires faster there is more air release? If it really does get that great range, that's an easy mod, but I still don't like the fact that 20-30 pumps only gets you one shot.
-iMod

EDIT: Dizzy beat me to it.

Edited by iMod1, 27 July 2009 - 10:00 PM.

  • 0
A computer once beat me at chess, but after that it was no match for me at kick boxing.
_______________
The Phoenix | Foam Universe

#10 imperious

imperious

    Member

  • Members
  • 32 posts

Posted 27 July 2009 - 10:05 PM

"I know you did this to a broken RF20, but 25 pumps for one shot seems kind of ridiculous."
I just tested, off 25 pumps i got 5 shots.

iMod1
"RF20 fires faster there is more air release"
Yes

Edited by imperious, 27 July 2009 - 10:08 PM.

  • 0

#11 PointBlank

PointBlank

    Member

  • Members
  • 528 posts
  • Location:Chicago suburbia

Posted 27 July 2009 - 11:26 PM

You should see if you can substitute a better air tank for the "bladder" that the Rf20 has. Thanks for posting this though, I was curious if anyone had ever done this before. Nice to know the result.
  • 0
You can agree with me.... or you can be wrong.

My Latest Mods
The Cyclops
Pointblank Titan

#12 Gas Mask Guy

Gas Mask Guy

    Member

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 28 July 2009 - 09:56 AM

I don't think it should be getting the range you say it gets. The stock valve is meant for a slow leak of air to power a continuous piston, not a rapid release of air.
-iMod


From the looks of it, I don't believe he removed the piston. That black part appears to be the part right between the barrels and the piston. Since RF20s and the like have lots of air loss due to the rotating barrels without proper seals, he could be right. 50' does sound more reasonable though.

Nice mod though. Consider finding a way to band the piston like some people do in Magstrikes to get even more air from each shot. This is a good example of what I'm talking about. Not sure if there's a good place to do it in the RF20 or not.
  • 0

#13 imperious

imperious

    Member

  • Members
  • 32 posts

Posted 28 July 2009 - 05:46 PM

I tested banding the piston it helps.

Edited by imperious, 28 July 2009 - 10:12 PM.

  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users