Machining Polycarbonate

Advice For a Beginner?

3 replies to this topic

#1 UpperHand

UpperHand

• Members
  • 172 posts

Posted 14 February 2009 - 09:53 PM

I just had a few questions about Polycarbonate, considering I am new to working with the material.

1. What is the best way to get a straight cut in polycarbonate? I read in the beginners guide to machining plastics that a tablesaw with the correct blade will work, but I'm afraid that it will shatter 1/8" polycarb. If I use Mcmaster part #4079A15, will I be OK?

2. What speed should I set a scroll saw at if I want to cut the plastic? I was thinking something around 800 would work, I just wanted confirmation. (I have a Ryobi model; I dont think that matters)

3. Which blades should I use for the scroll saw? (a Mcmaster part # would be greatly appreciated)

Also, any other tips for someone new to this (tapping holes, using the plastic weld, etc) are welcome.

Thanks,
Upperhand

Edited by UpperHand, 14 February 2009 - 09:54 PM.

My SCR-6
My Homemade Sidearm
The least you could do is tell me some advice. geese!

-- Headshot 21

#2 cheesypiza001

cheesypiza001

• Members
  • 752 posts

Posted 14 February 2009 - 10:11 PM

Sorry. Please disregard

Edited by cheesypiza001, 14 February 2009 - 10:12 PM.

#3 CaptainSlug

CaptainSlug

Resident Mad Scientist

• Administrators
  • 4,763 posts

Posted 14 February 2009 - 10:25 PM

I just had a few questions about Polycarbonate, considering I am new to working with the material.

1. What is the best way to get a straight cut in polycarbonate? I read in the beginners guide to machining plastics that a tablesaw with the correct blade will work, but I'm afraid that it will shatter 1/8" polycarb. If I use Mcmaster part #4079A15, will I be OK?

2. What speed should I set a scroll saw at if I want to cut the plastic? I was thinking something around 800 would work, I just wanted confirmation. (I have a Ryobi model; I dont think that matters)