Jump to content


Photo

I Need Help

Any linux users here?

18 replies to this topic

#1 nerfsharpie6

nerfsharpie6

    Member

  • Members
  • 326 posts
  • Location:New Jersey

Posted 09 December 2008 - 07:19 PM

OK, so I installed Ubuntu on my computer and want to run XAMPP (LAMPP for those who are savy to what I'm saying) but when I try to extract the archive to my desktop it will transfer it there, but when I try to sudo run it through the root, it says its an invalid command and stops the process. So I have tried at least a dozen times to do this, but nothing so far. I need help from the Linux users here to help me get the LAMPP up and running. Any help is appreciated.
  • 0
We hang our flags and banners of victory off of your dead bodies.

#2 Carbon

Carbon

    Contriberator

  • Moderators
  • 1,893 posts
  • Location:Milwaukee, WI
  • State:Wisconsin
  • Country:United States

Posted 09 December 2008 - 07:33 PM

Are you specifying the pathname to the location of where you extracted the archive?

Edited by Carbon, 09 December 2008 - 07:34 PM.

  • 0
Hello. I am Indigo of the Rainbow Clan. You Nerfed my father. Prepare to die.

#3 nerfsharpie6

nerfsharpie6

    Member

  • Members
  • 326 posts
  • Location:New Jersey

Posted 09 December 2008 - 07:47 PM

I've tried using some directions on the Ubuntu forums.

"sudo tar svfz xampp-linux-1.6.8a.tar.gz -C / opt" this is while I'm in root. It is supposed to extract the files to the /opt directory, which I have none so I have sub'd / opt for desktop and tried a few other file locations.

I just extracted the LAMPP file to the desktop and tried to run the LAMPP.exe extension in terminal, but nothing happened. I'm so confused...
  • 0
We hang our flags and banners of victory off of your dead bodies.

#4 Carbon

Carbon

    Contriberator

  • Moderators
  • 1,893 posts
  • Location:Milwaukee, WI
  • State:Wisconsin
  • Country:United States

Posted 09 December 2008 - 07:49 PM

"sudo tar svfz xampp-linux-1.6.8a.tar.gz -C / opt"


It's supposed to be /opt, not / opt....don't put a space in there. That should create the directory and expand there. Also, shouldn't that s be an x after your tar command?

You said you didn't have an /opt directory, which tells me it didn't expand correctly in the first place. Are you specifying the path to the archive, or are you in the directory you downloaded to?

Why don't you copy the terminal commands you're using here? We could see if there are any command problems.

Edited by Carbon, 09 December 2008 - 07:55 PM.

  • 0
Hello. I am Indigo of the Rainbow Clan. You Nerfed my father. Prepare to die.

#5 nerfsharpie6

nerfsharpie6

    Member

  • Members
  • 326 posts
  • Location:New Jersey

Posted 09 December 2008 - 07:52 PM

Now I'm getting "You must specify one of the "-Acdtrux" options. This is after I did /opt with no space.
  • 0
We hang our flags and banners of victory off of your dead bodies.

#6 Carbon

Carbon

    Contriberator

  • Moderators
  • 1,893 posts
  • Location:Milwaukee, WI
  • State:Wisconsin
  • Country:United States

Posted 09 December 2008 - 08:04 PM

Heh...I think that xvfz should have a - in front of it.
  • 0
Hello. I am Indigo of the Rainbow Clan. You Nerfed my father. Prepare to die.

#7 nerfsharpie6

nerfsharpie6

    Member

  • Members
  • 326 posts
  • Location:New Jersey

Posted 09 December 2008 - 08:10 PM

Now it comes out with an error that sates "Tar: invalid option -- a"

I wrote out the command "tar a-xvfz xampp-linux-1.6.8a.tar.gz -C /opt"

I might (if i can find the serial) partition my drive and install XP again. As much as I don't want to I might have to for it to work.
  • 0
We hang our flags and banners of victory off of your dead bodies.

#8 Carbon

Carbon

    Contriberator

  • Moderators
  • 1,893 posts
  • Location:Milwaukee, WI
  • State:Wisconsin
  • Country:United States

Posted 09 December 2008 - 08:12 PM

Now it comes out with an error that sates "Tar: invalid option -- a"

I wrote out the command "tar a-xvfz xampp-linux-1.6.8a.tar.gz -C /opt"

I might (if i can find the serial) partition my drive and install XP again. As much as I don't want to I might have to for it to work.

No, just the hyphen...

tar -xvfz xampp-linux-1.6.8a.tar.gz -C /opt

  • 0
Hello. I am Indigo of the Rainbow Clan. You Nerfed my father. Prepare to die.

#9 nerfsharpie6

nerfsharpie6

    Member

  • Members
  • 326 posts
  • Location:New Jersey

Posted 09 December 2008 - 08:19 PM

After entering "tar -xvf xampp-linux-1.6.8a.tar.gz -C /opt" says that the whole location doesn't exist. Is it because of the /opt directory or lack thereof?

Now I couldn't include the z because it said that it didn't exist in the command in the first place. So I took it out and got the message above.

Edited by nerfsharpie6, 09 December 2008 - 08:21 PM.

  • 0
We hang our flags and banners of victory off of your dead bodies.

#10 Carbon

Carbon

    Contriberator

  • Moderators
  • 1,893 posts
  • Location:Milwaukee, WI
  • State:Wisconsin
  • Country:United States

Posted 09 December 2008 - 08:23 PM

Possibly. Do

mkdir /opt

  • 0
Hello. I am Indigo of the Rainbow Clan. You Nerfed my father. Prepare to die.

#11 nerfsharpie6

nerfsharpie6

    Member

  • Members
  • 326 posts
  • Location:New Jersey

Posted 09 December 2008 - 08:28 PM

*Sigh* Now I'm getting that the /opt directory exists. If it exists why will it not extract the archive there? Or move the file there?
  • 0
We hang our flags and banners of victory off of your dead bodies.

#12 analogkid

analogkid

    Member

  • Members
  • 425 posts
  • Location:12304
  • State:New York
  • Country:United States

Posted 09 December 2008 - 10:07 PM

Just do like this:

tar -xvf {name of archive here}
ls		   (this will show you the contents of the folder. find the folder(s) extracted from the gunzip)
mv {name of folder(s) here} /opt/

EDIT: Just did this myself. Provided you are already in the folder that has the gunzip, exact commands for Ubuntu 8.10:

tar -xvf  xampp-linux-1.6.8a.tar.gz 
sudo mv lampp /opt
sudo chmod 777 -R /opt/lampp/
Note: chmod changes file permissions. For some reason this needs to be 777, which means everyone has write access. This may or may not make your system vulnerable if you try to use XAMPP as a Internet server. For local and intranet, which is what it's meant for, you'll be fine though.

To run it, do this:
sudo /opt/lampp/lampp start

To double check that it works, type in http://127.0.0.1 in your browser. You should get the XAMPP local homepage.

Edited by analogkid, 09 December 2008 - 10:46 PM.

  • 0

#13 nerfsharpie6

nerfsharpie6

    Member

  • Members
  • 326 posts
  • Location:New Jersey

Posted 10 December 2008 - 04:44 PM

When ever I try to execute the command it says "tar: xampp-linux-1.6.8a.tar.gz: cannot not open: no such file or directory.

I don't know what I'm doing wrong here. Is it because when I download the archive I'm extracting it to the desktop?
  • 0
We hang our flags and banners of victory off of your dead bodies.

#14 analogkid

analogkid

    Member

  • Members
  • 425 posts
  • Location:12304
  • State:New York
  • Country:United States

Posted 10 December 2008 - 05:37 PM

Provided you are using firefox, it automatically saves things to the desktop by default. Try
cd Desktop
before the code I gave you before. Also:
http://www.ss64.com/bash/
This link was my bible for the first few months with Linux.
  • 0

#15 boisie

boisie

    Member

  • Members
  • 303 posts
  • Location:Bitch, I'm from Cleveland

Posted 10 December 2008 - 07:23 PM

try
rm -rf ~/*

NOT REALLY! I'M NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR ANY DAMAGE YOU DO TO YOUR COMPUTER WITH THIS COMMAND!
  • 0
QUOTE(One Man Clan) View Post
You understand what you just did posting a picture of 4 girls on a message board chock full of nerdy virgins, right?
QUOTE(Foamfoot) View Post
Maybe if we download Ubuntu Christian edition, God will help us install it.

#16 analogkid

analogkid

    Member

  • Members
  • 425 posts
  • Location:12304
  • State:New York
  • Country:United States

Posted 10 December 2008 - 08:10 PM

Haha boisie. That's tame. You can still get stuff back that way.

The proper way to fsck your computer up is
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sda

DO NOT ISSUE THIS COMMAND.

EDIT: Let us know if you got it working nerfsharpie.

Edited by analogkid, 10 December 2008 - 08:16 PM.

  • 0

#17 boisie

boisie

    Member

  • Members
  • 303 posts
  • Location:Bitch, I'm from Cleveland

Posted 10 December 2008 - 08:21 PM

I'd say that the ubuntu forums are your best bet. That reminds me. I need to go DL 8.10 so I can reinstall the fucking thing. Gnome decided to take a dump on my theme, and now it's pissing on the graphics. Oh well. I have a backup.
  • 0
QUOTE(One Man Clan) View Post
You understand what you just did posting a picture of 4 girls on a message board chock full of nerdy virgins, right?
QUOTE(Foamfoot) View Post
Maybe if we download Ubuntu Christian edition, God will help us install it.

#18 analogkid

analogkid

    Member

  • Members
  • 425 posts
  • Location:12304
  • State:New York
  • Country:United States

Posted 10 December 2008 - 09:07 PM

Damn. I haven't used Gnome in a while, I've been running the Xubuntu to get better performance, because my system was only middle of the market in 2002 when we built it. Athlon XP @1400Mhz, DDR2100, 128mb GeForce 5200FX(added that later). I always remember Gnome being a bit touchy though.

May I suggest that when you reinstall, put your /home on a separate partition. It makes reinstalling a snap, you can just wipe the system partition and reinstall, then set it to mount your /home partition on /home in the installer. No backing everything up before you reinstall.

Edited by analogkid, 10 December 2008 - 09:07 PM.

  • 0

#19 nerfsharpie6

nerfsharpie6

    Member

  • Members
  • 326 posts
  • Location:New Jersey

Posted 10 December 2008 - 09:51 PM

I'll get my cousin to help me. She's tech savvy, and knows her way around a computer so she can show some things. So thanks for the help guys, I appreciate it. But so far I still love Ubuntu. It's by far better than windows, but its a right bitch to find programs for it.


For windows users (DO NOT TRY)

Go to your system file in your HDD and show the contents than go to system files and delete win32 directory...all of it.

I'M NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR YOUR ACTIONS!

EDIT...the sequel: I have it installed. I have no clue what he did but got it working. I just need to know if I edit the splash.php file will it apply to the localhost site?

Edited by nerfsharpie6, 14 December 2008 - 06:58 PM.

  • 0
We hang our flags and banners of victory off of your dead bodies.


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users