Photo

Glue Guide?

12 replies to this topic

#1 Blue

Blue

• Members
  • 2,222 posts

Posted 06 December 2008 - 10:00 PM

I have no experience at all with glue, and was wondering if there was a glue guide of some sort. All my mods are done with hot glue, but I need something that can hold a barrel with a strong spring, and am also looking for something like silly putty that gets adhesive and hard after awhile. I know I could ask the osh people, but I'd rather get my info from people who have actually dealt with this sort of thing.

Hot glue
-Pros: Holds things in place that don't need much support, fills gaps, stefans, Can be molded easily, easily removed, reusable (Once you open a pack you don't have to use it all at once), quick drying
-Cons: Weak, Can burn you, needs a glue gun, doesn't look clean after awhile, not sandable

Something like that for all the glues?

#2 bamblack2000

bamblack2000

• Members
  • 395 posts

Posted 06 December 2008 - 10:08 PM

Well I liked epoxy puddy but they are doing away with it.

Now I just use good old goop and epoxy.

#3 Doom

Doom

NH's Official In-House Physicist

• Administrators
  • 559 posts
  • State:Texas
  • u/btrettel on Reddit

Posted 06 December 2008 - 10:10 PM

I wrote a guide about glues for repairing water guns. The vast majority of what I said there is applicable in Nerf too.

If you want a putty that gets hard, you're looking for epoxy putty.

Let me note that while I said normal hot glues aren't good in that link, I am speaking from the point of a glue that can seal under appreciable pressure. If you need some structural support or operate at low and intermittent pressures, normal hot glue should be fine. But realize that normal hot glues are not very strong, so you may prefer something else.

Edited by Doom, 06 December 2008 - 11:33 PM.

#4 CaptainSlug

CaptainSlug

Resident Mad Scientist

• Administrators
  • 4,761 posts

Posted 06 December 2008 - 10:11 PM