Please Help A Noob

cpvc/pvc problems

21 replies to this topic

#1 fishingdude2044

fishingdude2044

• Members
  • 65 posts

Posted 20 September 2008 - 08:51 PM

Hi, i'm new. I've searched the forums but, I need help figuring out what type of pvc/cpvc size I need. I've been to home depot, and lowe's but i'm totally confused. How tight should the bullet be in the pvc/cpvc? And pictures of the writing on the pvc/cpvc would be extremley helpful!

please don't ban me or that kind of stuff like I said I'm a noob to this stuff.

thank you for your help,

fishingdude2044
"You're probably all wondering how to get a range of 95' from a mech 20?"~foamsniper"I was figuring you threw it."~carbon
"Would you belive Chuck Norris with a bb gun?"

#2 Mxer4life369

Mxer4life369

• Members
  • 115 posts

Posted 20 September 2008 - 09:11 PM

Welcome to the Haven. If you are using stefans/streamlines/cdtd's then you need 1/2" cpvc. CPVC is one of the most tight fitting barrel material. If you are using tagger darts, then 1/2" SCH 40 PVC is what most people use. SCH 80 PVC is a very loose fitting barrel, but can still be used. It fits streamlines etc. CPVC is under hot/cold cpvc on the aisle markers.
To further help you, I need to know more about your setup. (Gun/Darts used/Budget)
GO OKLAHOMA SOONERS!

#3 BlackFox

BlackFox

• Members
  • 286 posts

Posted 20 September 2008 - 09:12 PM

It really depends on what your ammo is.

If you're using stock tagger darts like most noobs, Sch. 40 PVC will fit around the velcro tip. You don't want a very long barrel though because it's such a poor setup. CPVC will work for stock taggers too, but won't cover the whole dart, it'll only go up to the tip.

If you're using CDTS or stefans, I wouldn't recommend either. CPVC works, but it's extremely tight.
Most people use:
-17/32" Brass tubing: spring guns with a quick discarge
- 9/16" Brass tubing: Air guns and springers with slower discharges
- PETG: All-around good barrel material.