Soldering

Brass and steel??

13 replies to this topic

#1 Lt Stefan

Lt Stefan

• Members
  • 892 posts

Posted 29 August 2008 - 02:38 PM

I need to join a small steel rod to the outside of a brass tube without having it break or deform the brass. The joint won't be under any stress, just the friction of brass in brass. I thought soldering would be the best, but my dad said you can't solder brass and steel. I just thought I would ask you guys if it would work or if you have another idea. Thanks!

#2 Norther of Heaven

Norther of Heaven

• Members
  • 349 posts

Posted 29 August 2008 - 04:02 PM

Um, you might wanna try welding. But i'm no expert at bonding metals.
"I don't always drink beer. But when I do,
I beat my wife."

#3 Daecu

Daecu

• Members
  • 63 posts

Posted 29 August 2008 - 04:20 PM

Nope, I'm pretty sure you're dad is right on this one. Soldering won't be a strong bond for that situation. Welding is the way to go, like Norther_of_Heaven said.

#4 Ubermensch

Ubermensch

• Members
  • 1,056 posts

Posted 29 August 2008 - 04:22 PM

Definitely. Soldering is only good for connecting thin wires.
"In order to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe."-Carl Sagan
Nerf Rocket Air Launcher

#5 Split

Split

• Members
  • 1,771 posts

Posted 29 August 2008 - 05:25 PM

Bob is right here. If you're hell bent on soldering it, use silver solder and a very high temp solder gun or iron if you can find one. I suggest prepping the brass and steel as well. For the brass use brass cleaner and let dry, and steel warm if not hot water and soap and let dry.

Personally, I would just use retention brackets. I would probably start wit 2+ "westerners" as my boss calls them. I assume that's the right name.
Teehee.

#6 Lt Stefan

Lt Stefan

• Members
  • 892 posts

Posted 29 August 2008 - 08:42 PM

A: welding would deform the brass, and I need it to be a barrel. B: I do not have a welder.

Splitlip: What's a retention bracket?

#7 Split

Split