Jump to content


Photo

Outlet Powered Vulcan

Just plug it in and shoot!

56 replies to this topic

#1 tatertotguy

tatertotguy

    Member

  • Members
  • 189 posts
  • Location:Minneapolis, Minnesota

Posted 24 July 2008 - 05:12 PM

My dad is an electritian and he says if you get a 9v. transformer you can wire up the Vulcan so all you have to do is plug it in and shoot. I am also thinking of the possibility of having this be removable so you can take the transformer out and convert it back to battery power.
  • 0
"So thats when she says, 'No that's my belly button'."

#2 Nate2

Nate2

    Member

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  • Location:MO

Posted 24 July 2008 - 05:16 PM

This would be possible, yes.

To make the transformer removable, all you would have to do is wire a plug into it in parallel with the battery pack's incoming power to the motor, which would allow you to use either the battery pack or the transformer..
  • 0
"How long is it supposed to be?"

You got a problem with me? You take it up with me directly.

#3 CaptainSlug

CaptainSlug

    Resident Mad Scientist

  • Administrators
  • 4,761 posts

Posted 24 July 2008 - 05:17 PM

My dad is an electritian and he says if you get a 9v. transformer you can wire up the Vulcan so all you have to do is plug it in and shoot. I am also thinking of the possibility of having this be removable so you can take the transformer out and convert it back to battery power.

It also has to be able supply the peak current load that the motor needs.
  • 0
The little critters of nature, they don't know that they're ugly. That's very funny, a fly marrying a bumble bee. I told you I'd shoot, but you didn't believe me. Why didn't you believe me?

#4 tatertotguy

tatertotguy

    Member

  • Members
  • 189 posts
  • Location:Minneapolis, Minnesota

Posted 24 July 2008 - 05:35 PM

The kind of transformer I was thinking of was a cell phone charger that has a 9v. output. All you would have to do is strip the wires and attach alligator clips to the ends of the wires and connect the clips to the battery terminals.
  • 0
"So thats when she says, 'No that's my belly button'."

#5 Nate2

Nate2

    Member

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  • Location:MO

Posted 24 July 2008 - 05:37 PM

Cell phone chargers do not usually put out many amps, so that might not work all that well.

I'd say go for a transformer from Radioshack, most likely one that can change its voltage. The alligator clips would end up falling off from vibration, also.
  • 0
"How long is it supposed to be?"

You got a problem with me? You take it up with me directly.

#6 tatertotguy

tatertotguy

    Member

  • Members
  • 189 posts
  • Location:Minneapolis, Minnesota

Posted 24 July 2008 - 05:41 PM

You could also E-tape the clips on.
  • 0
"So thats when she says, 'No that's my belly button'."

#7 Nate2

Nate2

    Member

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  • Location:MO

Posted 24 July 2008 - 05:42 PM

It would be better if you actually just put a plug in and solder the wires in. That would eliminate the vibration problem (mostly), and you wouldn't have to do much to run it by the battery.

CS, correct me if I'm wrong, but can't you just wire in the plug parallel with the battery pack, then be able to use both?

Edited by Nate#2, 24 July 2008 - 05:43 PM.

  • 0
"How long is it supposed to be?"

You got a problem with me? You take it up with me directly.

#8 Split

Split

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,771 posts
  • Location:Hammonton
  • State:New Jersey
  • Country:United States

Posted 24 July 2008 - 06:14 PM

You would need a double pole double throw switch to to that.

Has anyone else realized that it's a stupid idea to make a mobile machine gun immobile?
  • 0
Teehee.

#9 Lion

Lion

    Member

  • Members
  • 244 posts
  • Location:lex,ky

Posted 24 July 2008 - 06:17 PM

Yes, as an electrican, i saw this topic title and said to my self "Well that'd be easy but why would you want to carry around an extinction cord"
  • 0

#10 Lynx

Lynx

    Member

  • Members
  • 983 posts
  • Location:Columbus, Ohio
  • State:Ohio
  • Country:United States

Posted 24 July 2008 - 06:23 PM

Yes, as an electrican, i saw this topic title and said to my self "Well that'd be easy but why would you want to carry around an extinction cord"

You need to spell correctly or read the first post!

Lion, he is talking about using the cord to charge a battery/shoot the gun like a laptop charges the battery/powers the computer. You are special as fuck.

If your dad would be willing to do that it would be SICK (post the results). The whole problem is being able to switch batteries (as in a drill battery). I would recommend finding a local battery store (I have one near me). I just can't see this shit being too legal in wars.

Edited by Lynx, 24 July 2008 - 06:29 PM.

  • 0
Columbus' original crazy asshole now comes with:

AWESOME NITEFINDER

#11 Lion

Lion

    Member

  • Members
  • 244 posts
  • Location:lex,ky

Posted 24 July 2008 - 06:26 PM

READ THE FUCKING FIRST POST!

Lion, he is talking about using the cord to charge a battery/shoot the gun like a laptop charges the battery/powers the computer.



Um, no he's not, didn't you read the first post, he's talking about pluging in the gun to shoot rather then use batterys.....



also, sorry it's spelled electrician not electrican or electritian

Edited by Lion, 24 July 2008 - 06:27 PM.

  • 0

#12 Split

Split

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,771 posts
  • Location:Hammonton
  • State:New Jersey
  • Country:United States

Posted 24 July 2008 - 06:26 PM

Yes, as an electrican, i saw this topic title and said to my self "Well that'd be easy but why would you want to carry around an extinction cord"

But what you didn't do is spell correctly or READ THE FUCKING FIRST POST!

Lion, he is talking about using the cord to charge a battery/shoot the gun like a laptop charges the battery/powers the computer. You are special as fuck.

If your dad would be willing to do that it would be SICK. The whole problem is being able to switch batteries. I would recommend finding a local battery store (I have one near me). I just can't see this shit being too legal in wars.


I'm going to have to say, you're the fucking idiot here. The first post clearly says, plug in and shoot. No where does it say charge. And you can't charge regular batteries, and you can't charge any batteries with just a transformer. Those all need comparator circuits. Lynx, you need to shut the fuck up until you get off of your period. Go back to the speculation thread if you really want to talk about batteries. They've got a good 10 pages for just that. As for me, I'll be throwing in rechargeable rc car packs in tomorrow.
  • 0
Teehee.

#13 Lion

Lion

    Member

  • Members
  • 244 posts
  • Location:lex,ky

Posted 24 July 2008 - 06:30 PM

I'll be throwing in rechargeable rc car packs in tomorrow.



Now THAT is a good idea.
  • 0

#14 Cyph3r

Cyph3r

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 24 July 2008 - 06:43 PM

That is something I had actually considered myself. I'm no electrician but I'm sure the proper rechargeable RC battery (like those we use in our airsoft guns) would power this thing perfectly without the need to constantly buy more D batteries. It might even weight less as a result.

It should be an easy mod too, as long as you're comfortable with a soldering iron. From what I understand from Splitlips thread there's actually a separate detachable box that holds the batteries (correct me if I'm wrong). It's like it was designed to have a rechargeable thrown in there.

My boss just got his today, and he's bringing it to work tomorrow, so I'll get some hands on time with it, yay!
  • 0
"Good? Bad? I'm the guy with the gun."

#15 slowguitarman

slowguitarman

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,113 posts
  • Location:Denver, WV

Posted 24 July 2008 - 07:08 PM

That is something I had actually considered myself. I'm no electrician but I'm sure the proper rechargeable RC battery (like those we use in our airsoft guns) would power this thing perfectly without the need to constantly buy more D batteries. It might even weight less as a result.

It should be an easy mod too, as long as you're comfortable with a soldering iron. From what I understand from Splitlips thread there's actually a separate detachable box that holds the batteries (correct me if I'm wrong). It's like it was designed to have a rechargeable thrown in there.

My boss just got his today, and he's bringing it to work tomorrow, so I'll get some hands on time with it, yay!


First of all: Excellent first post. Welcome to the Haven.

Next: Yes. The batteries are placed in a removable pack, and then you put the pack inside of a compartment in the blaster itself.
  • 0
QUOTE
Your dreams were tight like a baby

SGM's Shred Shop -Mod Service

NerfHaven's resident drama queen.

#16 Split

Split

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,771 posts
  • Location:Hammonton
  • State:New Jersey
  • Country:United States

Posted 24 July 2008 - 07:57 PM

The reason that they're D and not CR123 is so that they last longer on one set of batteries.. I'd much rather to be able to shoot 2-300 shots with a heavier weight than 5 but not have my arms tired..

Interesting idea to have a second pack though.. Might have to steal that one. Wait wait wait. Nevermind. To get to the pack you have to unscrew the cover. Although I'd rather carry around a slide-in pack of extra batteries than 6 loose d batteries (and I would have to yank out the others, stick these in then slide in), I don't think I want to be unscrewing parts of my gun in the middle of a war..
  • 0
Teehee.

#17 analogkid

analogkid

    Member

  • Members
  • 425 posts
  • Location:12304
  • State:New York
  • Country:United States

Posted 24 July 2008 - 08:06 PM

K, here we go. Find the adapter your going to use first. Then find a DC jack that will fit it. Radioshack has a few here. Then use a DPDT switch to switch between the batteries and the AC adaptor. If you want a diagram I can provide, but your dad's an electrician, he should know how to do it.
  • 0

#18 mrcrouse1

mrcrouse1

    Member

  • Members
  • 436 posts
  • Location:York PA

Posted 24 July 2008 - 08:06 PM

I think before we plan how we can make quick back up batteries, we should see how long the regular batteries last.

By the way, awesome idea for the outlet powered vulcan. If you were doing indoor, you could barricade yourself in somewhere, plug in, and act like a turret in a war, just mow down everyone.
  • 0

#19 tatertotguy

tatertotguy

    Member

  • Members
  • 189 posts
  • Location:Minneapolis, Minnesota

Posted 24 July 2008 - 09:17 PM

I was thinking that you could set up some type of pill box or bunker with a lookout to call the shots like a loser team and they could cover you while you reload. The whole premise of the plug and shoot was if you were in an indoor war you could use the extension cord if the batteries went dead as a failsafe.

Edited by tatertotguy, 24 July 2008 - 09:19 PM.

  • 0
"So thats when she says, 'No that's my belly button'."

#20 nerfsharpie6

nerfsharpie6

    Member

  • Members
  • 326 posts
  • Location:New Jersey

Posted 25 July 2008 - 12:42 AM

This sounds like a very good idea. It should improve RoF instead of having X amounts of D size batteries to slowly die and give you less energy.

As for the Airsoft battery idea: It could work. You may have to rewire the gun first because of total voltage put out from normal D batteries to something like NiCd batteries are way different. If you figure out a way get a large male and female Tamiya connectors and get something like 9.6 volt 2200 mah battery. They are expensive as all hell and the chargers for it are none to cheap also. But it may work.
  • 0
We hang our flags and banners of victory off of your dead bodies.

#21 Lion

Lion

    Member

  • Members
  • 244 posts
  • Location:lex,ky

Posted 25 July 2008 - 01:17 AM

6D batterys put out 9v

6AA,AAA,B and C all put out 9v

All you need to do is find a 9v rechargable battery pack.

Edited by Lion, 25 July 2008 - 01:19 AM.

  • 0

#22 slowguitarman

slowguitarman

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,113 posts
  • Location:Denver, WV

Posted 25 July 2008 - 10:05 AM

It makes me cringe to hear people talk about batteries. 9.6v 2200mah batteries aren't expensive if you look hard enough. I got mine for like $25-$30. Battery connectors are easy to find.
Why stick to 9v? Even going to 9.6v would give the motor a little extra speed, and if you are worried about burning it up, don't. The extra 0.6v won't kill it. Toy manufacturers keep the motors on a voltage that is far below what they can actually handle. I have a cheap airsoft gun that was recommended to use a 7.2v battery. I wired it up to my special 18v battery. I never had trouble with it. All that happened was a ROF increase of 100% or a bit more.
  • 0
QUOTE
Your dreams were tight like a baby

SGM's Shred Shop -Mod Service

NerfHaven's resident drama queen.

#23 Lion

Lion

    Member

  • Members
  • 244 posts
  • Location:lex,ky

Posted 25 July 2008 - 10:08 AM

lol Hook a 18v rechargable drill battery up to the vulcan, see 4 to 6 drats flying a sec.
  • 0

#24 Split

Split

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,771 posts
  • Location:Hammonton
  • State:New Jersey
  • Country:United States

Posted 25 July 2008 - 10:35 AM

lol Hook a 18v rechargable drill battery up to the vulcan, see 4 to 6 drats flying a sec.


Yeah, I'll hold off on that until these things are more commonly available.
  • 0
Teehee.

#25 Cyph3r

Cyph3r

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 25 July 2008 - 11:41 AM

That is something I had actually considered myself. I'm no electrician but I'm sure the proper rechargeable RC battery (like those we use in our airsoft guns) would power this thing perfectly without the need to constantly buy more D batteries. It might even weight less as a result.

It should be an easy mod too, as long as you're comfortable with a soldering iron. From what I understand from Splitlips thread there's actually a separate detachable box that holds the batteries (correct me if I'm wrong). It's like it was designed to have a rechargeable thrown in there.

My boss just got his today, and he's bringing it to work tomorrow, so I'll get some hands on time with it, yay!


First of all: Excellent first post. Welcome to the Haven.

Next: Yes. The batteries are placed in a removable pack, and then you put the pack inside of a compartment in the blaster itself.


Thank you, it's good to be here (though I think I registered like a year ago and just haven't been back, life you know...)

I actually bought a longshot last night after work that I'm planning on modding, I'll post once I start the process (I've got big plans for it)

Now back to the Vulcan: while upping the voltage on one of these would undoubtedly increase the ROF, you also have to keep in mind that the internals are all plastic, and designed to be able to handle specific levels of stress. Yeah, the motor can handle a doubling of the ROF, but can the gears? Break one of those and you'd be hard pressed to find a replacement. In the world of airsoft this isn't a problem because replacement and upgraded gears are readily available, not so with nerf.
  • 0
"Good? Bad? I'm the guy with the gun."


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users