Jump to content


Photo

Recon Faster Reload?

Need help with a possible Recon Mod

22 replies to this topic

#1 Ultima-Weapon

Ultima-Weapon

    Member

  • Members
  • 21 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted 14 May 2008 - 05:01 PM

So I recently bought myself a N Strike Recon CS-6. The problem I found with it is the reload.
It takes a while and sometimes I get it stuck or don't load it all the way.
So, I came up with an idea but I wanna run it by you guys to see if you think it would work.

Would it be at all possible to make it so that when you pull back the trigger it pulls back the
loading mechanism and fires a dart, thereby allowing a new dart into the chamber, and upon
moving the trigger forward again it would load in the dart. Please, let me know if this would
be possible. If so, then great, if not then I'll have to come up with something else crafty...

Oh, and yes I am relativley new to modding. Really the only thing I have done is painted my
Recon (in progress).

Thanks for reading, and please let me know :angry:

Signed : Ultima-Weapon
  • 0


See what you kill, and kill what you see!

The below statment is false
The above statment is true

#2 Kanashimi

Kanashimi

    Member

  • Members
  • 100 posts
  • Location:New Brighton, Minnesota

Posted 14 May 2008 - 05:18 PM

Let's see.

Trigger pull - less than 3/4 of an inch

Plunger pull - More than a few inches

Unless you have it connected to a battery and motors, not very likely. If this was possible, we would all have semi-automatic spring powered NERF rifles.

Also, how is it not fast enough? You have a clip in it, you pull back the slide, you push it back forwards. If you already have a clip it, reloading takes a second or less. If you need to put a clip in, 2-3 seconds. Here's a nice thing to compare it to. Compare the reloading time with a recon to a nitefinder. Is there a difference?

-Kanashimi
  • 0

#3 Ultima-Weapon

Ultima-Weapon

    Member

  • Members
  • 21 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted 14 May 2008 - 05:22 PM

Well I was talking more well.. lets take a scenario (Note: This is the reason I can't wait for the Vulcan)

Your in the midst of a battle and the guy infront of you has an easier reload system (Long Shot, pump shotgun, something of that sort) You fire off a shot, miss, have to adjust your whole posture to get to the top and duck a possible shot at the same time.
Rather than that, why not have it reload upon firing? Please note, this was just a suggestion.

Edited by Ultima-Weapon, 14 May 2008 - 05:26 PM.

  • 0


See what you kill, and kill what you see!

The below statment is false
The above statment is true

#4 Crimmy

Crimmy

    Member

  • Members
  • 64 posts

Posted 14 May 2008 - 05:31 PM

That wouldn't work at all because when a recon fire's that little tube is pushing the dart out and if you grab the cocking mech while it is shooting, since the recon sucks it will. A: Not shoot B: Go two feet. Unless you want to make it a even more worthless MT20 then just deal with it.
  • 0

#5 deaddumpster

deaddumpster

    Member

  • Members
  • 326 posts
  • Location:Cambridge
  • State:Ontario
  • Country:Canada

Posted 14 May 2008 - 06:05 PM

You're NOT going to make the Recon Semi-Automatic. It's just not going to happen. End of story.

If you want a good semi-auto for wars, buy yourself a Blastfire from a thrift store or someone here and mod it. Trust me, it will be a lot easier. Maybe buy a Hornet since they're actually in stores, although a tad harder to mod.
  • 0
QUOTE(VACC @ Jan 15 2009, 01:55 PM) View Post

I've said it before, and I'll say it again. A good nerf gun is like a good woman. It shouldn't require extra lubrication.

#6 Ultima-Weapon

Ultima-Weapon

    Member

  • Members
  • 21 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted 14 May 2008 - 06:10 PM

Well, I am sure it isn't impossible to make it Semi-Automatic, it would just be very hard.
As much as I would like to find a way to do it, I suppose you're right.
Thanks anyway guys, hey, better I find out now then when I fuck it up, right?
  • 0


See what you kill, and kill what you see!

The below statment is false
The above statment is true

#7 Cmdrmack

Cmdrmack

    Member

  • Members
  • 545 posts
  • Location:Decatur, GA
  • State:Georgia
  • Country:United States

Posted 14 May 2008 - 06:11 PM

One possibility would be to attach a handle to the back of the "Armed" Rod, that way you could charge it like a nitefinder. Then all you'd have to do would be to close the bolt.
  • 0
QUOTE(Predalien_Ro @ Apr 7 2008, 10:24 PM) View Post

Oompa: FECES!? Who in their right mind would try that shit!?


Bigger Salvo

{FWPC}

#8 Captain

Captain

    Member

  • Members
  • 814 posts
  • Location:Pepperell, Massachusetts

Posted 14 May 2008 - 06:12 PM

First off, it's impossible to do what you're proposing. Second, if the only "mod" you've done is painting a recon, then you've got to slow down before you try any advanced mods. Start out with a basic AR removal for a basic gun, because a paintjob doesn't count as a mod.

Cmdrmack, if you put a rod on the back to charge it, having to close the bolt as a separate movement would technically make reloading slower, wouldn't it?

Edited by Captain, 14 May 2008 - 06:14 PM.

  • 0
I don't care what anyone else says, Atom Blasters are fucking awesome.

#9 Kanashimi

Kanashimi

    Member

  • Members
  • 100 posts
  • Location:New Brighton, Minnesota

Posted 14 May 2008 - 06:13 PM

Um... Posture?

Dude, this is Nerf. We don't usually stand up straight, holding our arms out in front of us spending a few seconds to aim. We shoot while running, rolling on the ground, jumping leg splits(I need to find that picture of 3DBBQ), whatever. If reaching to the top of your gun is really that hard for you, get a 3b and make an angel breach. 3B's are the same price of recons. The only things you need would be brass and stuff.

Please note: design threads that will never happen, or design threads in general, are usually extremely erotic in Nerfhaven.

-Kanashimi

P.s. Also, if you didn't have a clip gun, then that situation is usually when a person pulls out their sidearm.
  • 0

#10 AJAQ

AJAQ

    Member

  • Members
  • 312 posts

Posted 14 May 2008 - 06:16 PM

The firing mech would have to be Magstrike esque, but travel 4.5 inches for a LS (less for a recon I think)

Possible, but you would have to do it from scratch.
  • 0
~AJAQ~

#11 ejrasmussen

ejrasmussen

    Member

  • Members
  • 205 posts
  • Location:Anchorage Alaska

Posted 14 May 2008 - 06:44 PM

Posted Image
  • 0

#12 Gyrvalcon

Gyrvalcon

    Member

  • Members
  • 109 posts
  • Location:Markdale, Ontario, Canada
  • State:Ontario
  • Country:Canada

Posted 14 May 2008 - 07:05 PM

No.

AEG Nerf Blasters have not been proven feasable, yet. The Vulcan might just prove me wrong on that count.

The Magstrike works from a pressurized air tank, while the Recon uses a plunger system. They are not compatible with each other.

It is physically possible to link the trigger to the cocking mechanism, but due to the mechanical advantage (or lack thereof) you couldn't pull the trigger.

If you want a semi-auto blaster, Deaddumpster has the right idea, and the Recon isn't the blaster you want.
  • 0
-Knowledge Is Power-

#13 Swords

Swords

    Member

  • Members
  • 110 posts
  • Location:San Jose, California

Posted 14 May 2008 - 07:09 PM

Posted Image


I don't see the point of that. It'll probably cost another $20-$30 if you want a quiet motor, and who knows if it will work? There's really not that much space in a recon to install that. I personally think that the recon can reload fast enough. Of course, It may not be as fast as a longshot or BBB, but compare it to a titan. Seriously, the recon is barely less than a longshot. It won't make that big of a difference. Plus, complicating it more by adding batteries and motors will only make the failure rate higher.
  • 0
SuperGeek.

#14 ejrasmussen

ejrasmussen

    Member

  • Members
  • 205 posts
  • Location:Anchorage Alaska

Posted 14 May 2008 - 07:20 PM

He wanted an idea to base his work off and I gave him one.
  • 0

#15 Gyrvalcon

Gyrvalcon

    Member

  • Members
  • 109 posts
  • Location:Markdale, Ontario, Canada
  • State:Ontario
  • Country:Canada

Posted 14 May 2008 - 07:30 PM

He wanted an idea to base his work off and I gave him one.

But it's a bad idea. Hell, it's not an idea at all. You drew a paint picture of how to wire an electric motor to a PP3 battery. You didn't show a linkage of any type between the cocking/loading mechanism and the motor. You didn't specify the motor type, or check if it had enough power to compress the spring and cycle the action using the non-existent mechanical linkage. Bad ideas get killed. Leave this one to die in peace.
  • 0
-Knowledge Is Power-

#16 ejrasmussen

ejrasmussen

    Member

  • Members
  • 205 posts
  • Location:Anchorage Alaska

Posted 14 May 2008 - 07:37 PM

He wanted an idea to base his work off and I gave him one.

But it's a bad idea. Hell, it's not an idea at all. You drew a paint picture of how to wire an electric motor to a PP3 battery. You didn't show a linkage of any type between the cocking/loading mechanism and the motor. You didn't specify the motor type, or check if it had enough power to compress the spring and cycle the action using the non-existent mechanical linkage. Bad ideas get killed. Leave this one to die in peace.


Wouldn't that be a write-up then? If I have already done this I think I would have told him the specifications, but its his gun to figure out how to make it functionable, not my job.

Edited by ejrasmussen, 14 May 2008 - 07:37 PM.

  • 0

#17 Oni Kadaki

Oni Kadaki

    Member

  • Members
  • 193 posts

Posted 14 May 2008 - 08:10 PM

Ultima, I think the problems you're having can be remedied by taking a few far less drastic measures. If I understand right:

1) You have issues with cocking the gun, either due to jamming or due to having to reacquire your target after cocking...

AND

2) Reloading with a fresh clip takes a few precious seconds, during which you are vulnerable.

First off, the jamming issue can be greatly reduced by using somewhat new darts that are not in any way warped. I know having to restock on darts every few months sucks, but it's alot easier than what you're proposing. As for having to reacquire your target after you cock the gun, with the exceptions of the hornet and the rapid fire 20 (at least those are the only two on the market that come to mind) you have to reacquire your target with just about every nerf gun out there, making it essentially a non-issue.

As for being vulnerable when reloading, again, the same is true for all nerf guns. I usually just duck into cover, and it helps if your clips are close and hand. If it really becomes a problem, for example, if your opponents tend to charge you as you reload, try firing only four to five shots from your first clip before reloading, and be ready to just slam in the old clip and fire again as you get the second one ready.

I'm no expert modder, by any stretch of the imagination, i've only done one successful mod, but it sounds like what you're asking is pretty much impossible. I'd suggest a change in tactics before you try any sort of mod of this type.
  • 0

#18 Toastie

Toastie

    Member

  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 14 May 2008 - 10:19 PM

Well I was talking more well.. lets take a scenario (Note: This is the reason I can't wait for the Vulcan)

Your in the midst of a battle and the guy infront of you has an easier reload system (Long Shot, pump shotgun, something of that sort) You fire off a shot, miss, have to adjust your whole posture to get to the top and duck a possible shot at the same time.
Rather than that, why not have it reload upon firing? Please note, this was just a suggestion.


You may want to try making a shotgun fore-grip for the Recon if you use the attachable front barrel with yours. Here is an example of how it's been done before. This will allow you to keep your hands at the front of your gun and fix your issue; at the same time it is a very simple and quick modification.

P.S.- The Modification Directory is a very good place to look through before one even begins thinking of doing a modification.
  • 0
Talk less, Nerf more

#19 Cmdrmack

Cmdrmack

    Member

  • Members
  • 545 posts
  • Location:Decatur, GA
  • State:Georgia
  • Country:United States

Posted 14 May 2008 - 11:50 PM

First off, it's impossible to do what you're proposing. Second, if the only "mod" you've done is painting a recon, then you've got to slow down before you try any advanced mods. Start out with a basic AR removal for a basic gun, because a paintjob doesn't count as a mod.

Cmdrmack, if you put a rod on the back to charge it, having to close the bolt as a separate movement would technically make reloading slower, wouldn't it?


I don't think so. It seems to me that a top slider isn't a great place to grip a weapon if you're going to pul against a Spring, particularly if you've replaced the spring. However, the pull tab on the back acts directly aginst the force of the spring, rather than having to use the frictional force on the sides of the slider in addition to the force acting against the spring.

It's just a different take on the situation, it might not make a significant difference one way or the other.
  • 0
QUOTE(Predalien_Ro @ Apr 7 2008, 10:24 PM) View Post

Oompa: FECES!? Who in their right mind would try that shit!?


Bigger Salvo

{FWPC}

#20 AlaskaRecon

AlaskaRecon

    Member

  • Members
  • 26 posts
  • Location:Wasilla AK

Posted 18 May 2008 - 07:30 PM

OK. first I dont know why this is on the first page of the mod fourum. Now, I was looking up crap on the internet and found out how regular guns work thier semi systems. I think there is enough empty space in the Recon to put an air system in it. you would make a chamber and make it so at the trigger pull, a vlave would open and a jet of CO2 would cock the gun. I'm not saying it would be reliable and it would cost a bunch on CO2 powerlets, but it seems plausible to me.
  • 0
"How did he get hit with friendly fire?"
"His throat, ran into my knife"

OH go and Nerf with you Neopet!
Why dont yo... why did you have to bring that up?

#21 Dayko

Dayko

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,037 posts
  • Location:Washington
  • State:Washington
  • Country:United States

Posted 18 May 2008 - 07:56 PM

OK. first I dont know why this is on the first page of the mod fourum. Now, I was looking up crap on the internet and found out how regular guns work thier semi systems. I think there is enough empty space in the Recon to put an air system in it. you would make a chamber and make it so at the trigger pull, a vlave would open and a jet of CO2 would cock the gun. I'm not saying it would be reliable and it would cost a bunch on CO2 powerlets, but it seems plausible to me.


CO2 won't work on Nerf blasters. CO2 is too cold. Over time it will make the plastic weak and break.
  • 0

< One foot in death...The other in life. >
 


#22 AlaskaRecon

AlaskaRecon

    Member

  • Members
  • 26 posts
  • Location:Wasilla AK

Posted 18 May 2008 - 08:06 PM

OK. first I dont know why this is on the first page of the mod fourum. Now, I was looking up crap on the internet and found out how regular guns work thier semi systems. I think there is enough empty space in the Recon to put an air system in it. you would make a chamber and make it so at the trigger pull, a vlave would open and a jet of CO2 would cock the gun. I'm not saying it would be reliable and it would cost a bunch on CO2 powerlets, but it seems plausible to me.


CO2 won't work on Nerf blasters. CO2 is too cold. Over time it will make the plastic weak and break.

OK mabe you could blow it (dont make that sound wrong) but you could put a metal sheild over the part the CO2 would come into contact with, any way the recon is a mid range support weapon in my opinion. Buds go in with NF's and Mavs and you cover from behind, not much firing for you to do so the plastic wouldnt get that cold, Im just sayin... any way when I get my Recon back from my friend I think I will try it out

Edited by AlaskaRecon, 18 May 2008 - 08:08 PM.

  • 0
"How did he get hit with friendly fire?"
"His throat, ran into my knife"

OH go and Nerf with you Neopet!
Why dont yo... why did you have to bring that up?

#23 Dayko

Dayko

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,037 posts
  • Location:Washington
  • State:Washington
  • Country:United States

Posted 19 May 2008 - 08:02 PM

From what I can tell from your idea you are keeping the same plastic breech, which will come in contact with CO2. Unless you are going to do a breech from scratch ( Look up FA_24 Brass Breech ) the breech will fail. But hey, if you want to do go for.
  • 0

< One foot in death...The other in life. >
 



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users