Be Ye Warned

What not to do, a friendly warning.

11 replies to this topic

#1 Nexios

Nexios

• Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 15 April 2008 - 10:23 PM

Ok, so I am still a major noob, scratch that, I am colonel, no admiral noob with nerf modding. I also have a little tendency to overlook innocuous little details. Here begins the lesson.
So I took my longshot apart, hoping to add a brass barrel to improve my ranges. Now, I only have a few basic tools, but I just so happened to have a shinny new piece of brass that fit inside the barrel rather nicely. So I cut the end of the brass to match the curve of the breach. If you were to consult the popular little diagram of Cpt. Slug's, it would be the section that slides back, then moves forward to pick up the dart. Cutting this small piece by hand with a crappy little saw was tedious, to say the least, so I thought I could save myself some trouble by cutting off the little protrusion from the end of the breach rather than cutting the brass to fit it. Anyways, this is where the point is actually made. That little protrusion is important, like, really important. It appears that that is what pushes down on the dart in the clip so that it slides back in the breach and seals. Without this, the whole gun doesn't work, you thought it had bad range before hand, this is pathetic.
So here I am, short about $50 with a gun that doesn't work. I've tried gluing the piece back on, but the strength is dubious. If anyone has any suggestions (other than shut up and get to the point), I'm all ears....or eyes...I'm new to this whole forums thing.
That's about it, no little protrusion, no shooty darts, no shooty darts, no abused roomates, and that's no fun.
cheers
"Quando omni flunkus moritati."
-When all else fails, play dead.

#2 ompa

ompa

Introductinator

• Moderators
  • 2,368 posts

Posted 15 April 2008 - 10:26 PM