Feasibility Question - Multi-barrelled Springer

11 replies to this topic

#1 Ambience 327

Ambience 327

• Members
  • 561 posts
  • State:Indiana

Posted 14 March 2008 - 09:43 AM

I am relatively new to the whole Nerf modding scene, and I have been doing a lot of thinking. One idea I have had is to build a small, multi-barrelled "shotgun" to integrate into my Longshot, to basically fill the roll of an underslung grenade launcher. (We play indoors, so long ranges aren't all that important, but a nice scattered spread of foam would be capable of clearing a small room or hallway.)

I have found an interesting PVC fitting at www.flexpvc.com. Check it out here:

http://www.flexpvc.c...t=PVC-Manifolds

The third row items are what I am talking about - the "6 port distributors".

My question is, would it be possible to build a plunger behind this thing in 2" pvc, that would keep the whole assembly short enough to fit in the bipod area of a Longshot, and would provide enough power to push darts out of all 6 barrels - or would this just be a waste of time?

I don't want to go with an air-gun for this particular deal, because I don't need long ranges and I want to be able to quickly reload and fire. I'm just not familiar enough with plungers to know if they would provide enough oomph to make this worthwhile. Ideally, I would love to load 2-3 nanos per barrel and fire off a large burst of foam with a 10'-15' range.

Any advice or outright denouncing of this idea (from those who know enough to tell me why it won't work) would be greatly appreciated.
Foam in the Fort IV
The fourth exciting Nerf War in Fort Wayne, IN.

#2 rokor

rokor

• Members
  • 792 posts
  • State:Ontario

Posted 14 March 2008 - 10:07 AM