Jump to content


Photo

Ds Not Firing

Please help

18 replies to this topic

#1 Spectre666

Spectre666

    Member

  • Members
  • 229 posts
  • Location:Evanston, IL, USA

Posted 02 March 2008 - 04:40 PM

I got a new DS, I opened it up once, and now it won't shoot. If anyone else has had this problem please tell me how they fixed it, or if anyone has any suggestions, please state them.

Edited by Spectre666, 02 March 2008 - 04:41 PM.

  • 0


Just because you can't see me doesn't mean I'm not there.


"Quoth the Raven,'Nevermore.'" - Edgar Allan Poe

#2 MoonMaster

MoonMaster

    Member

  • Members
  • 180 posts
  • Location:Eastern Michigan

Posted 02 March 2008 - 04:42 PM

Did you close it back up? That could be your issue.
  • 0

5. Protip: sarcasm is good for making someone else look like more of an idiot than they already do. However, if you are an idiot to start with, using sarcasm just makes you look like a COLOSSAL idiot.


#3 xNFx 37

xNFx 37

    Member

  • Members
  • 455 posts
  • Location:The Computer '.'

Posted 02 March 2008 - 04:46 PM

I got a new DS, I opened it up once, and now it won't shoot.

Did you close it back up? That could be your issue.


added that hilarious quote to my signature, while playing with my butthole. On-topic, implying that you closed it up, it could be your darts are too tight. I tried GC's no shells mod, and but I used brass when I was a noob. My darts were SO tight (because I thought springers were supposed to be too tight) that the dart wouldn't leave a 3 inch barrel.

Edited by xNFx 37, 02 March 2008 - 04:46 PM.

  • 0
QUOTE
it also has a cock on it


-Chief

#4 Spectre666

Spectre666

    Member

  • Members
  • 229 posts
  • Location:Evanston, IL, USA

Posted 02 March 2008 - 04:49 PM

Yes, I did close it back up, and I didn't even do anything to it. It still has its shells. If the shells are too tight, then that's just fucked up.
  • 0


Just because you can't see me doesn't mean I'm not there.


"Quoth the Raven,'Nevermore.'" - Edgar Allan Poe

#5 Captain

Captain

    Member

  • Members
  • 814 posts
  • Location:Pepperell, Massachusetts

Posted 02 March 2008 - 04:52 PM

When I got mine, I had to push the darts into the shells and rotate them so the foam could compress around the huge-ass barrel post, then it worked.
  • 0
I don't care what anyone else says, Atom Blasters are fucking awesome.

#6 Spectre666

Spectre666

    Member

  • Members
  • 229 posts
  • Location:Evanston, IL, USA

Posted 02 March 2008 - 04:55 PM

Thanks for the tip Captain, but that didn't work.
  • 0


Just because you can't see me doesn't mean I'm not there.


"Quoth the Raven,'Nevermore.'" - Edgar Allan Poe

#7 Captain

Captain

    Member

  • Members
  • 814 posts
  • Location:Pepperell, Massachusetts

Posted 02 March 2008 - 04:56 PM

Do you mean the dart won't fire, or the gun itself won't work?
  • 0
I don't care what anyone else says, Atom Blasters are fucking awesome.

#8 Spectre666

Spectre666

    Member

  • Members
  • 229 posts
  • Location:Evanston, IL, USA

Posted 02 March 2008 - 04:58 PM

The gun fires, I can cock it back, pull the trigger, and feel the airflow, but when I load it, the damn darts just won't budge.
  • 0


Just because you can't see me doesn't mean I'm not there.


"Quoth the Raven,'Nevermore.'" - Edgar Allan Poe

#9 Captain

Captain

    Member

  • Members
  • 814 posts
  • Location:Pepperell, Massachusetts

Posted 02 March 2008 - 05:00 PM

And you're sure you jammed 'em in and twisted 'em around real good?

It took a while before mine started working.
  • 0
I don't care what anyone else says, Atom Blasters are fucking awesome.

#10 Spectre666

Spectre666

    Member

  • Members
  • 229 posts
  • Location:Evanston, IL, USA

Posted 02 March 2008 - 05:02 PM

Yeah, I really jammed 'em in there.
  • 0


Just because you can't see me doesn't mean I'm not there.


"Quoth the Raven,'Nevermore.'" - Edgar Allan Poe

#11 Shadowblade

Shadowblade

    Member

  • Members
  • 404 posts
  • Location:Augusta, GA

Posted 02 March 2008 - 05:09 PM

Hm, this happened to one of my DS a couple of months ago. You could try modding the shells (drill a bigger hole at the bottom of the shell) like Renegade's shell mod here DoubleShot mod.

This should allow more airflow.
  • 0
QUOTE
Proverbs says, "The wise man doth not shoot the Viking in the ding ding for he shall pummel thee."

But you can totally shoot Vacc there, he loves it!

~Talio

#12 Spectre666

Spectre666

    Member

  • Members
  • 229 posts
  • Location:Evanston, IL, USA

Posted 02 March 2008 - 05:11 PM

Thanks for the tip, I'll try it.
  • 0


Just because you can't see me doesn't mean I'm not there.


"Quoth the Raven,'Nevermore.'" - Edgar Allan Poe

#13 rockfordnerfer

rockfordnerfer

    Member

  • Members
  • 50 posts
  • Location:Rockford, IL

Posted 02 March 2008 - 05:22 PM

I have had something similar happen to 2 double shots. There would be airflow but the darts wouldn't move. When i opened the guns up it turned out that the air tubes had cracked off the plunger assembly. So I was feeling some air, but most of it was pushed out at the plunger assembly when something blocked the end of the tube. If you open the gun(do so carefully, it can be a pain to get back together) check where the tubes are glued to the plunger assembly. Most likely they are cracked off. if so, use some superglue to stick it back together right where it connects, then once that's dry glob on a good amount of epoxy or hot glue, completely covering the broken section(to ensure an airtight seal).

PM me with any other questions.
  • 0
A broken gun just means more parts for the other ones.

#14 PC III

PC III

    Member

  • Members
  • 389 posts
  • Location:Waco, Texas

Posted 02 March 2008 - 05:39 PM

Maybe the seal from the gun to seal is bad.
  • 0
QUOTE(ultra920 @ May 19 2008, 06:18 PM) View Post

Don't want to shove balls in tight spaces. Trust me, bad idea.

For sale: Vintage WWII French rifles. Dropped once, never fired.

#15 xNFx 37

xNFx 37

    Member

  • Members
  • 455 posts
  • Location:The Computer '.'

Posted 02 March 2008 - 05:46 PM

Also, youare using the stock, Buzz bee darts right? Either way, the barrels posts are huge, so it could be the posts are too tight, which means you should sand them down.
  • 0
QUOTE
it also has a cock on it


-Chief

#16 Pineapple

Pineapple

    Old-school Admin

  • Contributors
  • 1,377 posts

Posted 02 March 2008 - 06:08 PM

....I used brass when I was a noob.


What do you mean, "was"? :lol:


The Double Shot is a royal pain. I don't know exactly why you opened 'er up, unless it was to take the stock off and shorten it... but I tend to side with the theory that the airflow is impeded from the plunger tubes to the junction between the clear air tubes and barrel/shells. That part is pretty weak (actually, the whole design is wrought with flaws, IMO.)

One last thing. Shake the gun when loaded... do the shells move back and forth? Just a possibility that the shell ejectors are compressed in, not pushing the shells back against the catches.

This blaster ticks me off. My son's one had one side trigger catch broken, so we ended up scrapping the whole deal. The plunger tubes are still intact, if yours are screwed, I'll be happy to give them to you. My son doesn't care about it anymore, so most of it sits in the parts pile.



-PIney-
  • 0
-Piney- of White Dog Hobbies Armory


<!--quoteo(post=209846:date=Feb 5 2009, 06:27 PM:name=boom)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(boom @ Feb 5 2009, 06:27 PM) View Post</div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->
It's to bad you live in hawaii I bet there are not many wars there.Wait what am I saying<b> you live in hawaii you lucky bastard.</b>
<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->

#17 Spectre666

Spectre666

    Member

  • Members
  • 229 posts
  • Location:Evanston, IL, USA

Posted 02 March 2008 - 08:04 PM

My plunger tube-pipe thing was broken when I opened it, so I glued it, but it still won't work.

Piney, I think I will take you up on that offer for the plunger tubes. What would you like to do?
  • 0


Just because you can't see me doesn't mean I'm not there.


"Quoth the Raven,'Nevermore.'" - Edgar Allan Poe

#18 General Cole

General Cole

    Member

  • Banned
  • 868 posts
  • Location:Las Cruces New Mexico

Posted 03 March 2008 - 12:16 AM

Drill the shells out and put a layer of craft foam on the original seal. Then try again.
We should stop calling out/making fun of/pissing GC off. He's actually contributed and is available for trade. He's a better than average member no doubt. Got your back Cole.
-Nerfer34

You know what... I know it's kinda late... but Props Cole.
-Baghead

#19 Salmon

Salmon

    Member

  • Members
  • 447 posts
  • Location:Austin, TX

Posted 03 March 2008 - 05:02 PM

And you're sure you jammed 'em in and twisted 'em around real good?

It took a while before mine started working.

Thats sooo added that hilarious quote to my signature, while playing with my butthole.
  • 0
Welcome to I-dont-care-isburg, population: me.
We're located in I-Don't-Give-a-Damn County, in scenic Shut-the-Hell-Up-achussets.
Maybe you're familiar with our annual charity drive where we ask for shit, and no one gives any.


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users