ΦΗΣ Nerf Project – Input/advice Wanted

The goal: 20 modded NFs

16 replies to this topic

#1 Thom

Thom

• Members
  • 759 posts

Posted 23 February 2008 - 04:53 AM

To make a long story short, a friend of mine heard about the UBCon war in April, and now his fraternity (ΦΗΣ) wants to come. They want me to help them mod twenty NFs over spring break. Twenty NFs is a lot for one person to supervise, but much of the actual work (such as opening up guns) can be done by complete newbies, and much of the rest (removing ARs, assembling barrels) can be easily demonstrated.

I'm using precisionnerfer's write-up as a loose starting point. In total, I plan to:
  • Replace the springs with #49s.
  • Reinforce the plunger heads.
  • Replace the plunger head screws.
  • Remove the ARs.
  • Add nested brass barrels.
The guns will have to fire stock taggers, although I may additionally permit CS-style felt-tipped stefans at the war. I'm estimating that they should fire taggers at least 60 feet with the improvements described.

I'm looking for any input, advice, or suggestions. I've never done anything of this sort, and I could use some pointers if anyone else has.

EDIT: ΦΗΣ, not ΦΕΣ.

Edited by Thom, 23 February 2008 - 04:55 AM.

#2 Retiate

Retiate

• Members
  • 778 posts

Posted 23 February 2008 - 05:24 AM

If you have enough time, I highly recommend you look into getting some PETG from OMC. The fit is looser than 17/32", so it won't work with stock darts as well, but with Stefans, the fit is great. Also, with 20 NFs to mod, brass barrels are going to cost you around $35 (using ~5" lengths of 17/32" brass). The PETG will cost like $10 (using ~5" lengths of PETG). I think my biggest worry would be cost.
If you are going to use stock darts, you can have some 1/2" PVC extend past the brass barrel for better pressure build up on stock darts. As far as I know, this shouldn't change ranges on Stefans, though it will make reloading more of a pain.

#3 OfAllTheNerf

OfAllTheNerf