Jump to content


Photo

Memory Stick Problem


13 replies to this topic

#1 keef

keef

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,390 posts
  • Location:Denville, New Jersey

Posted 21 February 2008 - 11:27 PM

I know this should be on Qj or DCemu, but I'll ask here first. My Mem. Stick Pro Duo won't work. It says (PSP), "Memory Stick could not be read." WTF? I know, 200 megs of music, 2 movies, bunch of homebrew... Any know how to fix it? I don't want to format my MS...
  • 0
Timothy M-Lick <3

#2 sputnik

sputnik

    Member

  • Members
  • 911 posts
  • Location:San Angelo, Texas

Posted 22 February 2008 - 12:25 AM

I know this should be on Qj or DCemu, but I'll ask here first. My Mem. Stick Pro Duo won't work. It says (PSP), "Memory Stick could not be read." WTF? I know, 200 megs of music, 2 movies, bunch of homebrew... Any know how to fix it? I don't want to format my MS...

You might have brick'd your PSP, buddy.
  • 0
tcambre on IRC.

<3

#3 keef

keef

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,390 posts
  • Location:Denville, New Jersey

Posted 22 February 2008 - 12:29 AM

Nah its fine, I'm on it now.
  • 0
Timothy M-Lick <3

#4 Captain

Captain

    Member

  • Members
  • 814 posts
  • Location:Pepperell, Massachusetts

Posted 24 February 2008 - 02:54 PM

That's strange. My memory stick almost never has problems, and it's been through the laundry. Ummm...maybe the plug is dusty?
  • 0
I don't care what anyone else says, Atom Blasters are fucking awesome.

#5 blister

blister

    Member

  • Members
  • 207 posts
  • Location:Bay Area, CA

Posted 24 February 2008 - 02:57 PM

Try just copying everything onto your computer, then formatting and copying it back.
  • 0
Subvert the Dominant Paradigm.

#6 keef

keef

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,390 posts
  • Location:Denville, New Jersey

Posted 24 February 2008 - 08:36 PM

The computer won't read it. Its not being read at all I think. Its not my psp, I know that 100% percent.
  • 0
Timothy M-Lick <3

#7 Green Riptide

Green Riptide

    Member

  • Members
  • 100 posts
  • Location:Columbus, Ohio

Posted 24 February 2008 - 08:47 PM

Blow on it and put it back in the SNES.


er, wrong system.

If it has a lock make sure it is unlocked; maybe try putting it in the PSP and then going to USb mode and seeing if the PC reads anything. It really just sounds like it just crapped out on you. See if you can return it under warranty or anything; more likely with a Sony or SanDisk one than others. QJ probably is better for this sort of thing.
Slightly OT, what firmware are you running, and is this a phat or slim PSP?
  • 0

#8 keef

keef

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,390 posts
  • Location:Denville, New Jersey

Posted 24 February 2008 - 08:51 PM

Its the old PSP. Custom Firmware 3.71-2 M33 with the 1.50 firmware addon.

The PSP isn't the problem, I know its fine because everything else works.
  • 0
Timothy M-Lick <3

#9 Richomundo

Richomundo

    Member

  • Members
  • 196 posts
  • Location:Santa Monica, CA

Posted 28 February 2008 - 03:30 PM

sony memory sticks are notorious for becoming corrupted.

Hence why their DSLR's also take compact flash instead of memory stick pro duo :-p

you might need to reformat, but you most likely won't need to replace it unless its unrecognizable at all.

Edited by Richomundo, 28 February 2008 - 03:31 PM.

  • 0

#10 keef

keef

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,390 posts
  • Location:Denville, New Jersey

Posted 29 February 2008 - 07:24 AM

I've tried to reformat, but I can't. The PSP, the PC too, won't read it at all.
  • 0
Timothy M-Lick <3

#11 slowguitarman

slowguitarman

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,113 posts
  • Location:Denver, WV

Posted 29 February 2008 - 07:51 AM

I've tried to reformat, but I can't. The PSP, the PC too, won't read it at all.


Sounds like you are screwed. Buy yourself a new stick, and redownload everything you had on it. If you bought a sony brand stick...DON'T DO IT AGAIN! Seriously, though, sandisk sticks are ten times better than sony. I have like 10 of them ranging in size from 32MB to 4GB, and I have loads of homebrew and pirated games, and I haven't had a bit a trouble.
  • 0
QUOTE
Your dreams were tight like a baby

SGM's Shred Shop -Mod Service

NerfHaven's resident drama queen.

#12 taita cakes

taita cakes

    Member

  • Members
  • 943 posts

Posted 01 March 2008 - 12:09 AM

I think people are forgetting how imperfect flash memory actually is though.

From the day you buy it, it has a set lifespan, a specific number of times it can be used before it becomes unreadable. And also how easily files become corrupted.
  • 0
Oh Kentucky, you are so fuggin awesome...

#13 Split

Split

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,771 posts
  • Location:Hammonton
  • State:New Jersey
  • Country:United States

Posted 01 March 2008 - 11:52 AM

I know you've probably checked, but just to cover all the bases - you didn't push that little white slider right? I know it's not on all flash memory, but just make sure. That puts it on lock and makes it unreadable.
  • 0
Teehee.

#14 keef

keef

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,390 posts
  • Location:Denville, New Jersey

Posted 01 March 2008 - 12:19 PM

No lock on it. Forget it, I'm just gonna buy a new one.
  • 0
Timothy M-Lick <3


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users