Photo

High Altitude Nerfing

Questions found inside

4 replies to this topic

Poll: High Altitude NERF War

If there were a High Altitude NERF war in Southeastern Idaho I would...

You cannot see the results of the poll until you have voted. Please login and cast your vote to see the results of this poll.
Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 imaseoulman

imaseoulman

• Members
  • 1,005 posts

Posted 09 November 2007 - 08:52 AM

Alright, so I've been NERFing for many years, but most of that was near Seattle's Puget Sound. I now live in southeastern Idaho at an elevation of around 5000'. In the summer, NERFing conditions are prime. My darts fly fast and straight and I hit moving targets at 70' consistently (I realize that is much more difficult at sea-level). The downside is winter, where temperatures often drop below zero. I'm not too worried about the ranges...I can live with a sharp decrease as long as everybody else's gun also are limited...My concern is the effect that the cold might have on the structure of the gun. So here's a question for guys that have NERFed in freezing temperatures or who have a firm grip on physics and its real world application on NERF guns:

If I'm NERFing in sub-freezing temperatures (as low as single digits, but mostly in the twenties) should I be worried about the plastic in my guns becoming rigid and breaking? I use mostly air pump guns (primarily AT3k's, AT2k's, and SM1.5k's) but I do use some spring powered guns as well. I don't worry too much about the spring guns, but if I start blowing out tanks in my plugged SM1.5k's, I won't be a happy NERFer. If anybody can help me out, please do.