Officially named the Thrust Shot

26 replies to this topic

#1 badger

badger

The Walking Nerf-wiki

• Members
  • 1,171 posts

Posted 21 January 2007 - 08:43 PM

A couple weeks ago, I went a little loopy. Everyone started posting, with so much excitement, that Nerf had re-released the Ripsaw under a new name, the Buzzsaw. They made it sound like ball guns are great. What I remember about ball guns, in general, is simply this,

"They suck in a war and their range is pathetic."

I am a collector and I can completely agree with this statement. I never saw a ball gun that could go further than 25-30 feet except for the MP-150 and the Bungee Blaster, but the first one is loud as hell and the latter one most people were too scared to use for fear of losing the irreplaceable ammo. It was at this point that my girlfriend and I had to negotiate a day to let me modify and produce Nerf guns.

This is my first attempt at building a homemade Nerf gun. I wanted it to be able to do several key things:
  • To be able to fire more than one type of ammo by making some parts interchangeable.
  • To be CO2 powered, but not to the point that it weighed a ton.
  • To be compact enough that it could be attached to other guns, mainly my LS.
  • To be able to prove that a good ball gun can exist.
I think that I achieved it tonight. I haven't named it yet because I figured I would leave that up to all of you.

Posted Image
This is what it looks like fully assembled.

Posted Image
This is its appearance when the center cylinder is removed.

Listed below are the parts that are neded to make this. Use the numbered picture as a guide:
  • 1" PVC Slide Repair Coupling (SRC) #1
  • 1 1/4" PVC Piping #2
  • 1 1/2" PVC Fitting #3
  • 1 1/4" PVC Coupling #4
  • 1 1/4" PVC End Cap #5
  • CO2 Tire Inflator #6
  • Schraeder Valve (take it from an old bike tire and cut it out, leaving a 1/2" wide ring of rubber attached) #7
  • Epoxy suited for PVC