NerfHaven: Vulcan problem - NerfHaven

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Vulcan problem

#1 User is offline   StraXXuS 

  • Member
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 33
  • Joined: 19-January 12
  • Location:fernley, NV
  • Country:United States
  • State:Nevada

Posted 07 April 2012 - 06:31 PM

Recently I opened up my Vulcan to install an OMW upgrade spring(5 KG if you are wondering) and after installation I reassembled it. One problem, it seems to Be awful picky about what darts it fires. I can hear it firing but the darts dont leave the belt at all. If it makes any difference I also have an 8 AA battery holder voltage mod.
0

#2 User is offline   Ranger Dave 

  • Member
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 27
  • Joined: 12-January 12
  • Location:Columbus, Ohio
  • Country:United States
  • State:Ohio

Posted 07 April 2012 - 11:50 PM

Have you made sure that when you took it apart you didn't change the alignment of the gears?
~RANGER DAVE Grenadier for Dragon Army
"Where do I put my but?"
0

#3 User is offline   Seprest 

  • Member
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 41
  • Joined: 13-March 12
  • Location:Rochester/Albany
  • Country:United States
  • State:New York

Posted 08 April 2012 - 01:13 AM

 Can you fire darts consistently with manual fire?  If so then it is probably a problem with the spring being too strong for the mechanism, as an 8v mod isn't exactly giving your blaster crazy power.  Else, something is misaligned.  Does the mechanism properly make a seal with the belt when you manually prime the blaster?  You should not be able to easilly move the belt link that is being sealed.  

This post has been edited by Seprest: 08 April 2012 - 01:14 AM

4 - HvZ Games Played

22- Mods completed
0

#4 User is offline   Darthrambo 

  • Member
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 116
  • Joined: 04-October 11
  • Country:NULL (No answer)
  • State:NULL (No Answer)

Posted 08 April 2012 - 01:59 AM

If you can manually prime and fire any dart with no such misfires the problem is this:
The mechanism that seals the tube to the belt isn't functioning properly. What can happen is the seal created from the front part of the tube being pushed forward onto the belt chamber can be lost due to the mechanism allowing the part to spring back before the round has fired. The mechanism is located behind the front part of the tube.

You can kinda mess with it by playing with the little flap that is under the tube by pulling it back and seeing if it stays in place. I know this is not a good description but hopefully you can figure out what I mean if you are looking at the internals.
0

#5 User is offline   hamoidar 

  • Member
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 367
  • Joined: 06-October 11
  • Country:United States
  • State:NULL (No Answer)

Posted 08 April 2012 - 06:43 AM

Did you make sure you put back on the belt ratchet spring? It is the small extention spring that is located on the lower half of the large white piece. Also, make sure you pad AND reinforce your plunger rod. If you don't, you will end up with a snapped plunger rod: like me.
NerfHaven > Your control panel > Profile > Change Signature > Inserts dumb sig > What! No pictures! > Inserts next best thing: Best thing on Nerfhaven!
0

#6 User is offline   StraXXuS 

  • Member
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 33
  • Joined: 19-January 12
  • Location:fernley, NV
  • Country:United States
  • State:Nevada

Posted 09 April 2012 - 07:46 AM

I can fire through a whole belt manually. So I think its a problem something like what darthrambo said in that the seal is being removed before the dart is launched. I'm not totally sure how to fix that though. I'll have to look into it when I get another chance to open up my Vulcan.
0

#7 User is offline   Darthrambo 

  • Member
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 116
  • Joined: 04-October 11
  • Country:NULL (No answer)
  • State:NULL (No Answer)

Posted 09 April 2012 - 11:33 AM

View PostStraXXuS, on 09 April 2012 - 07:46 AM, said:

I can fire through a whole belt manually. So I think its a problem something like what darthrambo said in that the seal is being removed before the dart is launched. I'm not totally sure how to fix that though. I'll have to look into it when I get another chance to open up my Vulcan.


1-Strech the spring that pushes the nub out that holds the tube forward
2-Remove any lube that might have got on the nub and rough up the surface so that there is more friction so it doesn't slide off as easy
0

#8 User is offline   StraXXuS 

  • Member
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 33
  • Joined: 19-January 12
  • Location:fernley, NV
  • Country:United States
  • State:Nevada

Posted 10 April 2012 - 09:58 AM

View PostDarthrambo, on 09 April 2012 - 11:33 AM, said:

1-Strech the spring that pushes the nub out that holds the tube forward
2-Remove any lube that might have got on the nub and rough up the surface so that there is more friction so it doesn't slide off as easy

I will get back to you after said mods are finished, thanks for all the help!
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users